Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Keb Darge Presents The Best Of Legendary Deep Funk Limited Vinyl 2LP

Various Artists

Label: BBE
Release Date: 28 October 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Keb Darge Presents The Best Of Legendary Deep Funk Limited Vinyl 2LP To Basket £24.99

Various Artists Keb Darge Presents The Best Of Legendary Deep Funk Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Northern soul boy, crate digger and tastemaker, Keb Darge is a name which needs no introduction to lovers of rare music the world over. His ‘Legendary Deep Funk’ night at Soho’s seminal strip club turned music venue Madame Jojo’s introduced obscure dance-floor soul music to an eager London club crowd, sparking a global appetite for raw, visceral funk. Keb’s search for rare ‘45s took him across the globe, obsessively searching dollar bins, private collections and in some cases, artists homes to discover hidden gems recorded by local bands on regional record labels and pressed in tiny quantities. The rarity of the music combined with Keb’s exquisite ear and DJ ability meant that these records quickly became highly collectible (not to mention expensive) and even made ‘deep funk’ a recognized genre all its own. Keb’s passion paved the way for the modern funk revival, spearheaded by bands like The New Mastersounds & Quantic, even hitting the pop charts with the likes of Mark Ronson. In 1997 BBE released the first of three compilation albums of ‘Legendary Deep Funk ’, among the first LPs issued by the label. Equally loved by fans and loathed by vinyl price-gougers, the music contained on these albums took the world by storm, offering a refreshing change from the same old well-loved funk tunes endlessly re-issued on cut-price comps. The music felt fresh, exciting, full of energy and more authentic than anything all but the most dedicated collectors had heard before. Fittingly enough, to celebrate BBE’s 20th year, we’ve asked Keb to select his greatest hits from the ‘Deep Funk’ series, presented on heavyweight vinyl, CD and digital formats. The compilation contains edits by Keb’s deep funk contemporaries Ian Wright & Kenny Dope, as well as standout tracks from over 20 years of ‘Legendary Deep Funk’.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. King Tutt - You've Got Me Hung Up
2. Harris and Orr - Spread Love
3. Cross Bronx Expressway - Cross Bronx Expressway
4. Soul Drifter - Funky Brother (Re
5. Zebra - Simple Song
6. Record Player - Free Your Mind
7. Fabulous Mark 3 - Psycho
8. The Chefs - Mr Machine (Re
9. Dee Edwards - I Can Deal With That
10. Leon Gardner - Natural

Disc: 2
1. Family Of Eve - I Wanna Be Loved By You
2. Total Experience - Contradiction
3. Joe Washington - Blueberry Hill
4. Ronnie Keaton - Going Down For The Last Time
5. Fabulous Originals - It Ain't Fun (Re
6. Sons Of The Kingdom - Modernization
7. Ramsey & Co - Love Call
8. Rickey Calloway - Tell Me
9. Golden Toadstools - Silly Savage
10. Sandi and Matues - World
11. Carleen & The Groovers - Can We Rap
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal