Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

ORPHÉE Limited Vinyl LP


Label: Decca
Release Date: 09 September 2016
Format: LP Vinyl

Add ORPHÉE Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £18.99


Prolific and critically acclaimed composer Jóhann Jóhannsson releases his DG debut album. ORPHÉE is his highly anticipated new studio album – the first in 6 years! Jóhannsson’s genre-blending score represents all facets of his previous works – from intimate string quartet pieces, to large string orchestra works, featuring electronics, drones, organ, piano, choir, as well as enigmatic shortwave broadcasts to create an evocative & immersive sound. ORPHÉE is a melancholic, yet optimistic musical journey inspired by the Orpheus myth – Orpheus rising from the underworld, trying to escape darkness into the light. He holds numerous awards and nominations (Winner: Golden Globe and ASCAP Awards; Nominations: 2 Oscars + 2 BAFTAs, Grammy, 2 Critics’ Choice Awards, 2 World Soundtrack Awards). His music offers great potential for Synch deals!

“I started writing this album in 2009, using a number of simple contrapuntal themes. I began to reshape and transfigure these ideas, writing many different variations. These renderings slowly mutated over time in a process of deconstruction and re-assembly, to the extent that the original versions began to fade into the darker corners of my hard disk. Unlike many of my previous albums, this one didn’t start out with a conceptual or narrative theme binding the music together. Rather, the music seemed to be waiting for its form, for its momentum.” – Jóhann Jóhannsson

Featured Tracks:
1. Flight from the City
2. A Song for Europa
3. The Drowned World
4. A Deal With Chaos
5. A Pile of Dust
6. A Sparrow Alighted Upon Our Shoulder
7. Fragment I
8. By the Roes, and by the Hinds of the Field
9. The Radiant City
10. Fragment II
11. The Burning Mountain
12. De Luce et Umbra
13. Good morning, midnight
14. Good night, day
15. Orphic Hymn
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal