Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

THE VINYL COLLECTION 1979-1982 Limited 180gram Vinyl 7LP Box Set


Release Date: 07 October 2016
Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Add THE VINYL COLLECTION 1979-1982 Limited 180gram Vinyl 7LP Box Set To Basket £67.99

IAN GILLAN THE VINYL COLLECTION 1979-1982 Limited 180gram Vinyl 7LP Box Set

Gillan - The Vinyl Collection houses together all 5 UK studio albums by the legendary rock powerhouse. All have been recreated as first pressing replicas, so Future Shock has the original 12x12 booklet and Glory Road contains the bonus LP 'For Gillan Fans Only'. All pressed on 180g heavyweight vinyl housed in a rigid slipcase.

Mr Universe - 1979ís Mr Universe was Gillanís second album and the first issued in the UK. This album cemented the classic line up of former Deep Purple vocalist Ian Gillan, guitarist Bernie Torm?, bassist John McCoy, pianist Colin Towns and drummer Mick Underwood. High energy classic hard rock from beginning to end. Glory Road - Issued in 1980, at the height of the NWoBHM, Glory Road took Gillan to new levels of energy and success, cementing them as Top Of The Pops regulars. Classic British hard rock at its best. For Gillan Fans Only - Originally issued as a limited edition bonus disc to 1980ís Glory Road, For Gillan Fans Only features b-sides, studio outtakes and specially recorded material, interspersed with quips and irrelevance, all showcasing the bandís creativity and humour. This also features the side project The Split Knee Loons. Future Shock - Gillanís 1981 album Future Shock saw these Reading Festival regulars at their lyrically most personal and diverse, taking on religion and the cold war. Aptly futuristic artwork encompassing a blistering cover of New Orleans, and No Laughing In Heaven an early rock meets rap chart hit. Double Trouble - Gillanís third album in 15 months saw this 1981 double album Double Trouble feature new guitarist Janick Gers (later of Iron Maiden), and a slightly more melodic approach. Two chart hits and a bonus disc of live material from the Reading Festival . Magic - Magic, issued in 1982, was Gillanís swansong before singer Ian joined Black Sabbath and then a reformed Deep Purple. There most melodic and underrated album, it featured the blistering Demon Driver and a cover of Stevie Wonderís Living For The City. The catalogue ended on a high.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Second Sight
2. Secret Of The Dance
3. She Tears Me Down
4. Roller
5. Mr. Universe
6. Vengeance
7. Puget Sound
8. Dead Of Night
9. Message In A Bottle
10. Fighting Man

Disc: 2
1. Unchain Your Brain
2. Are You Sure
3. Time And Again
4. No Easy Way
5. Sleeping On The Job
6. On The Rocks
7. If You Believe Me
8. Running, White Face, City Boy
9. Nervous

Disc: 3
1. Higher And Higher
2. Your Mother Was Right
3. Redwatch
4. Abbey Of Thelema
5. Trying To Get To You
6. Come Tomorrow
7. Dragon's Tongue
8. Post Fade Brain Damage
9. Egg Timer (Vice Versa)
10. The Harry Lime Theme

Disc: 4
1. Future Shock
2. Nightride Out Of Phoenix
3. (The Ballad Of) The Lucitania Express
4. No Laughing In Heaven
5. Sacre Bleu
6. New Orleans
7. Bite The Bullet
8. If I Sing Softly
9. Don't Want The Truth
10. For Your Dreams

Disc: 5
1. I'll Rip Your Spine Out
2. Restless
3. Men Of War
4. Sunbeam
5. Nightmare
6. Hadely Bop Pop
7. Life Goes On
8. Born To Kill

Disc: 6
1. No Laughing In Heaven
2. No Easy Way
3. Trouble
4. Mutually Assured Destruction
5. If You Believe Me
6. New Orleans

Disc: 7
1. What's The Matter
2. Bluesy Blue Sea
3. Caught In A Trap
4. Long Gone
5. Driving Me Wild
6. Demon Driver
7. Living A Lie
8. You're So Right
9. Living For The City
10. Demon Driver - Reprise
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal