Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Off Track Vol. III: Brooklyn Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Kon & Amir present

Label: BBE
Release Date: 29 July 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Off Track Vol. III: Brooklyn Limited Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £24.99

Kon & Amir present Off Track Vol. III: Brooklyn Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Digging duo Kon & Amir occupy a select corner of the DJ world, with radio, mix-CDs, live sets and compilations on their radar. Theirs is a slowly-but-steadily growing catlogue crammed with timeless releases: six volumes of their widely celebrated On Track mixtape series; a highly regarded compilation The Cleaning (2004); a breaks-heavy instalment called Kings of Digging (2006) with DJ Muro from Japan and now the third volume of five in their Off Track series for BBE. Not to mention tours spanning the US, Europe and Far East taking in appearances at clubs, festivals and weekenders; in addition they’ve a strong affiliation with record diggers’ bible Wax Poetics, and have just completed an 18-month residency of their own monthly show on online music ‘zine Spine Magazine’s radio station.

Off Track III finds the New York/Boston-based pair shining light on another diverse array of underexposed vinyl. The eclectic African disco and soul cuts Amir highlights on his disc are Americanized by style but inherently authentic in feel, demonstrating the very best of the region’s dance music from the period following Fela Kuti’s mid-70s creative peak. Some standouts: Tee Mac’s 1980’s insistently catchy ‘Living Everyday’; Effi Duke’s percussive materpiece ‘The Time Is Come’; and Christy Essien’s glorious ‘You Can’t Change’, which features famed bandleader Geraldo Pino’s Show Train outfit. Also in the mix are a couple of cuts from unsung Nigerian star Dizzy K. Falola aimed at sophisticated dancefloors.

Kon’s disc opens with an extended edit of Donny McCullough’s From The Heart’ from a pricey 1981 album. Rudolph Baker’s little known album track ‘Getting Next To You’ is a floor-filling anthem in the waiting. Edge of Daybreak were a prison band whose punchy title track from their rare Eyes Of Love album provides a solid argument for subsidizing more music programs behind bars. ‘Tin Top’ is another cut with a Kon edit, but Kenny Mann & Liquid Pleasure are the antithesis of mysterious indy-label group, the veterans performing to this day and maintaining a comprehensive website loaded with videos and resumes.

Featured Tracks:
Kon’s Selection:
A1. S.F.B. – Burnin’ Up [Kon’s Edit]
A2. Donny McCullough - From The Heart [Kon’s Multi Remix]
A3. Taxie - Rock Don’t Stop

B1. The Mazyck Project - More Power To You
B2. The Edge Of Daybreak - E.O.D. (Edge of Daybreak)
B3. Shake - Lost In Space

Amir's Selection:
C1. Oby Onyioha - Enjoy Your Life
C2. Bomp - Disco Power
C3. Christy Essien Igbokwe - You Can't Change a Man

D1. Harry Mosco - Sexy Dancer
D2. Goddy Oku - Don't Ask Me
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal