Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Jay Strongman presents Popcorn Heartbreak Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Various Artists

Label: BBE
Release Date: 15 July 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Jay Strongman presents Popcorn Heartbreak Limited Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £19.99

Various Artists Jay Strongman presents Popcorn Heartbreak Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

For teenagers listening to their radios, making out on the back seats of their fathers’ cars or slow dancing at High School hops and block parties, the late 1950s through to the early 1960s was a golden age of angstdriven songs and the blossoming of what would later evolve into soul music. There were R&B/pop crossovers that sounded like pop and country/gospel fusions that sounded like soul. There were latin-tinged songs with Doo-Wop vocals and pop songs that featured raw R&B vocals but the one thing all these songs shared was their subject matter. It didn’t matter what the colour of the singer’s skin was or if the instrumentation featured twangy guitar, wailing sax or Broadway-show-style strings, all these two-and-a-half minute gems shared a common theme in their lyrics – the heartbreak of lost love.

But these tracks also had one other factor in common - they boasted a mid-tempo pacing that made them perfect for slow jive dancing - which was something that didn’t go un-noticed in the Belgium of the 1970s, where a whole scene grew up around clubs that spun these obscure tunes from ten and twenty years earlier as an antidote to the frantic, mainstream disco tunes that were getting played in most European clubs at the time.

Called “Popcorn” after the James Brown song of the same name, this Belgian club scene was similar to Britain’s Northern Soul phenomenon with DJ’s seeking out rarer and rarer tunes to keep their dancers entertained. Although everything from ska to out-andout pop got played as “Popcorn”, this compilation concentrates on the more R&B influenced songs of the period, making it perfect for late night dance floor moves or for soulful listening at home…

Featured Tracks:
A1 Hillard Street - River Love
A2 Varetta Dillard - That's Why I Cry
A3 Damita Jo - I'll Be There
A4 Jesse James - Dreams Never Hurt Nobody
A5 Patsie Slater - A Tear

B1 Kitty White with Hugo Peretti And His Orchestra - I'm Gonna Be A Fool Next Monday
B2 The Gainors - Tell Him
B3 The Sierras - I Should Have Loved You
B4 Frank Minion with Howard Biggs and His Orchestra - How Much Land (Does A Man Need)
B5 Dolly Lyon - Palm Of Your Hand

C1 Brook Benton - Kiddio
C2 Tony Allen and the Champs - Nite Owl
C3 Cindy Devereaux - Sing On Baby
C4 The Radiants feat. Gene McAlister - Heartbreak Society
C5 Anna King - The Big Change

D1 Ray Rush - So What
D2 Johnny Wells - Lonely Moon
D3 Timi Yuro - What's a Matter Baby
D4 Simone Dina - Now I Lay Me Down To Weep
D5 Lew Conetta - You Got Me Crazy
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal