Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Doctor Who - The Krotons Limited 10 Inch Vinyl LP

Brian Hodgson and The BBC Radi

Label: Silva Screen Records
Release Date: 24 June 2016
Format: LP Vinyl

Out of Stock £12.99

Brian Hodgson and The BBC Radiophonic Workshop Doctor Who - The Krotons Limited 10 Inch Vinyl LP

The vinyl edition of this SILVA SCREEN RECORDS release of DOCTOR WHO - THE KROTONS

VERY LIMITED VINYL REPRESS : 300 only for Retail Distribution

Includes : Doctor Who (New Opening Theme, 1967)

This was only the second archive release (and the first on vinyl!) of a Doctor Who soundtrack after the Doctor Who 2005 British TV comeback, featuring a collection of 'special sounds' by British electronic composer Brian Hodgson.

Doctor Who - The Krotons is a 4 episode Doctor Who serial first broadcast in weekly parts
from 28 December 1968 to 18 January 1969.

Brian Hodgson was a member of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop and worked closely with Delia Derbyshire, the seminal figure of English electronic music. As the original sound effects creator for Doctor Who he was responsible for the chilling Dalek voices and the powerhouse sound of the Tardis lifting off.

Brian created The Tardis sound in 1963, running a back door key for his mother's house along the bass string of a dismembered piano and treating it electronically. The sound of The Tardis lift-off is still in use.

Brian comments: "I spent a long time in planning the Tardis sound, I wanted a sound that seemed to be travelling in two directions at once; coming and going at the same time."

The collection displays Brian’s highly innovative techniques that, together with Delia Derbyshire’s experiments in modes and tunings, became the staple of British electronica.

Featured Tracks:
Side A:
1. Doctor Who (New Opening Theme, 1967)
2. The Learning Hall
3. Door Opens
4. Entry Into The Machine
5. TARDIS (New Landing)
6. Wasteland Atmosphere
7. Machine And City Theme
8. Machine Exterior
9. Panels Open
10. Dispersal Unit
11. Sting
12. Selris' House

Side B
1. Machine Interior
2. Snake Bleeps Low
3. Silver Hose (The Snake)
4. Snake Bleeps High
5. Teaching Machine Hums
6. Forcefield
7. Burning Light
8. Birth Of A Kroton
9. Kroton Theme
10. Kroton Dies
11. Link - Rising Hum
12. Kroton Dies (Alternative)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal