Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

The George Mitchell Collection Limited Vinyl LP

Houston Stackhouse and Friends

Label: Big Legal Mess Records
Release Date: 08 April 2016
Format: LP Vinyl

Add The George Mitchell Collection Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £15.99

Houston Stackhouse and Friends The George Mitchell Collection Limited Vinyl LP

· Born in Wesson, MS, in 1918, Houston Stackhouse’s first instrument was the harmonica. Throughout the 1930s Stackhouse played around Mississippi with the Mississippi Sheiks and Robert Johnson. Stackhouse taught the slide guitar to his cousin Robert Nighthawk and the two would play together on Mother’s Best Flower Hour and the King Biscuit Time show, both broadcast on KFFA in Helena, AR.
· Playing on KFFA, Stackhouse was brought into contact with James Elmore, Muddy Waters, Little Walter, Jimmy Rogers, Roosevelt Sykes and Earl
Hooker. Electric guitar became Stackhouse’s fulltime
· Recorded by famed field recording historian George Mitchell.
· Part of Fat Possum’s 25th Anniversary First Time On Vinyl series.

Featured Tracks:
1. Big Road Blues
2. Cool Water Blues
3. Big Fat Mama Blues
4. Take a Little Walk With Me
5. Bye Bye Blue
6. Mean Old World
7. The Wrong Man
8. Kansas City Blues
9. Right Around the Corner
10. Canned Heat
11. Nighthawk Boogie
12. Down By the Woodside
13. Travelin' Man Blues
14. Fare You Well Blues
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal