Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

BEFORE EVER AFTER Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set


Release Date: 08 April 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add BEFORE EVER AFTER Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £29.99


Before Ever After, co-produced by Bill Laswell and band guitarist Andy Hawkins is Blind Idiot God’s fourth record.
Blind Idiot God have a long history as forbearers of modern varieties of tech/prog music. The band explores, innovates, and defies convention and expectations. They create music for its own sake, and have never wavered from their original groundbreaking approach.
In the band's early days musical inspirations included Black Flag, Black Uhuru, Led Zeppelin, 1970’s electric Miles Davis, Public Image Limited, Igor Stravinsky, The Tony Williams Lifetime and Gyorgy Ligeti.
In 1986 the band moved to New York City and recorded their self-titled debut with producer Martin Bisi (Sonic Youth, Swans, John Zorn). The album was released by SST Records in 1987. It was a critical success.
Blind Idiot God went on to make two more LPs with the original lineup. “Undertow,” released by Enemy Records in 1989, began a long relationship with visionary bassist/producer Bill Laswell.
A third LP, “Cyclotron,” also produced by Laswell, was released in 1991 on Avant Records, the label curated by iconic saxophonist/composer John Zorn. Zorn also recorded with the band on the track “Purged Specimen” on “Undertow.” Both albums received near unanimous critical acclaim. As Blind Idiot God’s music became more ambitious, Bill Laswell’s masterful sonic translation brought the band’s musical vision into ever sharper focus.
During the thirteen years Ted Epstein was a member, Blind Idiot God toured the US and Europe, performing with Black Flag, Helmet, The Minutemen, Jesus Lizard, and Sun Ra, among others.
The new 74-minute double LP titled, Before Ever After, was co-produced by Bill Laswell and guitarist Andy Hawkins and is being released by Indivisible Music. The band began tracking the album in 2009 with inimitable Power Station multi-platinum engineer, and Laswell favorite, Jason Corsaro. “Andy Hawkins is a nut, a perfectionist for his amplification and the guitar, and we recorded it right,” Laswell recently explained to “Every detail is there. He’s obsessive. It’s probably the best thing they’ve done.” The gatefold double-vinyl LP artwork is a stunning example of artist Seldon Hunt’s finest LP designs (Neurosis, Earth, Melvins, Sunn). While the format of three stylistically different approaches remains in place, the lines are further blurred, and the music has a new urgency as the band explores a more improvisational approach to the compositional ideas.

Featured Tracks:
1. Twenty Four Hour Dawn
2. High And Mighty
3. Antiquity
4. Earthmover
5. Night Driver
6. Wheels Of Progress
7. Ramshackle
8. Voice Of The Structure
9. Under The Weight
10. FUB
11. Barrage
12. Strung
13. Shutdown
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal