Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

Getz/Gilberto '76 Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl LP

Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto

Release Date: 29 February 2016
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Getz/Gilberto '76 Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl LP To Basket 24.99

Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto Getz/Gilberto '76 Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl LP

Tenor titan Stan Getz and bossa nova legend Joo Gilberto reunite in 1976 with never-before-released recordings from the famed Keystone Korner jazz club in San Francisco featuring pianist Joanne Brackeen, bassist Clint Houston and drummer Billy Hart. This deluxe CD includes a 32-pg booklet of essays by author James Gavin, bossa nova pioneer Carlos Lyra, Stan's son Steve Getz, and producers Zev Feldman and Todd Barkan, as well as previously unpublished photos from the archives of acclaimed music photographer Tom Copi. Also available as a limited edition 12" LP, Getz/Gilberto '76 is a notable follow-up to one of the bestselling jazz albums of all time, 1964's Getz/Gilberto (Verve) and includes such bossa nova favorites as "Doralice," "Chega de Saudade" and "Eu Vim da Bahia". A beautifully vibrant painting ("Equilibrium Verde") by celebrated Puerto Rican abstract expressionist artist, Olga Albizu, graces the cover. Her paintings can also be seen on the covers of Getz/Gilberto and Getz/Gilberto #2 (1966, Verve). - A newly discovered unearthed classic of never-before-released music recorded in May 1976. - A follow-up album to the biggest selling bossa nova record of all time, the GRAMMY Award-winning Getz/Gilberto (Verve) and Getz/Gilberto #2 which sold over 1 million copies. - Available as a Deluxe CD and Limited Edition 12" LP. - Booklet includes essays by author James Gavin, bossa nova legend Carlos Lyra, pianist Joanne Brackeen, drummer Billy Hart, and producers Zev Feldman & Todd Barkan. - Includes rare unpublished photographs. - Cover art painting by Puerto Rican expressionist painter, Olga Albizu (Jazz Samba and Getz/Gilberto). - Release endorsed by Joao Gilberto & the Stan Getz Estate. - Limited Edition first pressing of 2,000. - 180 gram vinyl at 33 1/3 RPM by Record Technology Incorporated (RT.I.). - Gatefold LP includes booklet with essays, unpublished photographs and postcards - Mastered by legendary engineer Bernie Grundman.

Featured Tracks:
1. Spoken Intro by Stan Getz (1:07)
2. Preciso Perdoar (5:50)
3. Aguas de Maro (5:46)
4. Retrato Em Branco E Preto (4:47)
5. Samba da Minha Terra (3:20)
6. Chega de Saudade (3:42)
7. Rosa Morena (4:25)
8. Eu Vim Da Bahia (4:11)
9. Joo Marcelo (3:20)
10. Doralice (3:47)
11. Morena Boca de Ouro (3:34)
12. Um Abrao No Bonf (4:38)
13. Preciso Perdoar (Encore) (6:29)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal