Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Waiting To Exhale O.S.T. Limited Gatefold Purple Vinyl 2LP Set

Various Artists

Release Date: 18 March 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Waiting To Exhale O.S.T. Limited Gatefold Purple Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £29.99

Various Artists Waiting To Exhale O.S.T. Limited Gatefold Purple Vinyl 2LP Set

Waiting to Exhale was a phenomenon on so many levels. First, it was a literary phenomenon, as the 1992 novel launched author Terry McMillan to superstardom. Then, when the feature film based on the book was released in 1995, it became a broader cultural phenomenon—a mainstream Hollywood film focusing on the lives of four African-American women was a genuinely revolutionary act at the time. And, finally, it was a musical phenomenon, as its soundtrack seamlessly blended female R&B divas new (Whitney Houston, Brandy, Mary J. Blige, etc.) and old (Aretha Franklin, Patti LaBelle, Chaka Khan) in a masterful suite of songs composed and produced by Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds. Critical and commercial reaction to the soundtrack was over the top; The New York Times deemed the album one of the Top Ten releases of the year, and the record topped the Billboard Pop and R&B charts for five and ten weeks, respectively, spawning the #1 hit singles "Exhale (Shoop Shoop)," "Not Gon' Cry," and "Let It Flow." Yet, because the album came out in 1995 at the height of the CD era, Waiting to Exhale never came out on LP in the U.S., and was released in Europe as a low-budget 2-LP set with both records stuffed inside a single album jacket pocket. Now, Real Gone Music is releasing this landmark '90s R&B album on vinyl in America for the first time in a limited edition (of 1000) gatefold double-LP package sporting a luminous photo of the movie's four principal actors (Whitney Houston, Angela Bassett, Lela Rochon, and Loretta Devine) on the inside spread and pristine vinyl pressed in purple (Whitney's favorite color). Gently pulsating and seductive, Waiting to Exhale is Babyface's masterpiece, one of the great make-out records of all time; now you can get that slow jam groove in the grooves!

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Exhale (Shoop Shoop)—;Whitney Houston - Whitney Houston
2. Why Does It Hurt So Bad—;Whitney Houston - Whitney Houston
3. Let It Flow—;Toni Braxton - Toni Braxton
4. It Hurts Like Hell—;Aretha Franklin - Aretha Franklin

Disc: 2
1. Sittin’; Up in My Room—;Brandy
2. This Is How It Works—;TLC
3. Not Gon’; Cry—;Mary J. Blige
4. My Funny Valentine—;Chaka Khan

Disc: 3
1. And I Gave My Love to You—;Sonja Marie
2. All Night Long—;SWV
3. Wey U—;Chanté Moore
4. My Love, Sweet Love—;Patti LaBelle

Disc: 4
1. Kissing You—;Faith Evans
2. Love Will Be Waiting at Home—;For Real
3. How Could You Call Her Baby—;Shanna
4. Count on Me—;Whitney Houston & CeCe Winans
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal