Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

PUNK 45: Sick On You! One Way Spit! (USA Underground Punk) Vol.3 2LP

VA / Soul Jazz Records Present

Label: Soul Jazz Records
Release Date: 26 February 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add PUNK 45: Sick On You! One Way Spit! (USA Underground Punk) Vol.3 2LP To Basket £16.99

VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents PUNK 45: Sick On You! One Way Spit! (USA Underground Punk) Vol.3 Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

Soul Jazz Records’ new Punk 45 album is a collection of tracks of twisted, raw and energized proto-punk music from the early 1970s, ahead-of-its-time music which led the way for the birth of punk in the second half of the 1970s.

Punk 45: Sick on You! One Way Spit! After the Love & Before the Revolution: Proto-Punk 1969-77 is the third volume in this series, following on from two earlier albums as well as Soul Jazz Records’ massive 400-page Punk 45 cover art book (compiled by Jon Savage, author of the seminal punk book London’s Dreaming, and Stuart Baker of Soul Jazz Records). This new album is compiled and has extensive sleeve-notes by Jon Savage.

While the first in the series, Punk 45: Kill The Hippies! Kill Yourself!, focused on the rise of underground punk in America, and the second album, Punk 45: There is No Such Thing as Society, did the same for punk and post-punk in Britain, this album draws upon some of the stripped-down hard garage and post-glam sounds of mainly obscure bands that existed in the early 1970s – that were to prove the template for the forthcoming punk movement.

This new Punk 45 album is a unique collection of proto-punk tracks from across the USA - Cleveland’s Electric Eels, San Francisco’s Crime, Los Angeles’ Zolar X, Baltimore’s George Brigman and more – as well as from the UK – with Joe Strummer’s pre-Clash 101ers, the speed-induced R&B of the Count Bishops and others.

The album comes complete with text, biographies on each of the bands, exclusive photos and original record artwork. It is released on CD with outsize large booklet and thick slipcase and is also available as a limited-edition, super-loud, super-heavy, double gatefold-sleeve vinyl edition, complete with full sleeve-notes and free download code. These Punk 45 releases are also the first that Soul Jazz Records are making available as worldwide digital releases.

Featured Tracks:
1. One Way Spit - Debris
2. Jungle Rot - George Brigman
3. Politicians in My Eyes - Death
4. You Really Got Me - Hammersmith Gorillas
5. Hot Wire My Heart - Crime
6. She Smiled Wild - The Mirrors
7. Sick On You - The Hollywood Brats
8. Derelict Boulevard - Pastiche
9. Makes Your Mouth Go Funny - Cabaret Voltaire
10. Hit & Run - Jack Ruby
11. Rear Guard Action - Victoria Vein and the Thunderpunks
12. Cyclotron - The Electric Eels
13. I Ain't Got You - Count Bishops
14. Acid Revolution - Rob Jo Star Band
15. Keys to Your Heart - The 101ers
16. Mr. Cool - The Killer Kane Band
17. Here Come the Cyborgs (Part 2) - Simply Saucer
18. Space Age Love - Zolar X
19. Wired Up - Hector
20. (I Want to Love You Like A) Mad Dog - Stavely Makepeace
21. Just a Patsy - Radio Pete
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal