Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

PUNK 45: Chaos In The City Of Angels And Devils - Hollywood From X ...

VA / Soul Jazz Records Present

Label: Soul Jazz Records
Release Date: 26 February 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add PUNK 45: Chaos In The City Of Angels And Devils - Hollywood From X ... To Basket £16.99

VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents PUNK 45: Chaos In The City Of Angels And Devils - Hollywood From X To Zero & Hardcore On The Beaches: Punk In Los Angeles 1977-81 Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

Chaos in the city of Angels and Devils’ is the new instalment of Soul Jazz Records’ Punk 45 series featuring an array of first generation Los Angeles punk bands including X, The Germs, The Zeros, The Urinals, The Weirdos through to second generation hardcore groups like The Circle Jerks, Adolescents and T.S.O.L.

Unlike the other major cities of New York and London, Punk in Los Angeles was pretty much ignored by the major record industry. As bands sprang up, Los Angeles punk gave rise to a wide range of its own DIY independent records with labels like Dangerhouse, Bomp!, What? And Upsetter documenting the nascent emerging scene.

Original Los Angeles punk came in two distinct phases. The first punk groups (c.77-79) all centred around The Masque club in Hollywood, and the birth of the first ever hardcore groups who emerged in the surrounding Los Angeles suburb and beach areas (c.1979-81), mixing punk, skate and surfer ideologies. This album includes music from both periods.

‘Chaos in the city of Angels and Devils’ documents this in detail. The 64-page outsize CD booklet features extensive notes, exclusive photography from celebrated original photographers Jenny Lens, Melanie Nissen (Slash magazine) and Edward Colver, original cover art as well as interviews and features on bands and labels (including The Urinals, Flesh Eaters, Dangerhouse, Posh Boy, Frontier, Upsetter and more!).

The deluxe double vinyl comes in gatefold sleeve, inner sleeves, insert + free download (+ full sleevenotes and photography).

This is the sixth Punk 45 release on Soul Jazz Records and follows on from the earlier releases covering punk from Cleveland, Akron, UK, USA and proto-punk, as well as the book Punk 45 – Cover Art of Punk written in collaboration with Jon Savage.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. The Middle Class - Out Of Vogue
2. X - We're Desperate
3. The Flesh Eaters - Disintegration Nation
4. The Weirdos - A Life Of Crime
5. The Urinals - I'm White And Middle Class
6. Iggy And The Stooges - I Got A Right
7. The Germs - Forming
8. Agent Orange - Bloodstains
9. Black Randy|The Metrosquad - Trouble At The Cup
10. The Urinals - Ack Ack Ack Ack
11. The Zeros - Don't Push Me Around
12. The Randoms - ABCD

Disc: 2
1. The Randoms - ABCD
2. Circle Jerks - What's Your Problem
3. The Bags - Survive
4. Adolescents - Amoeba
5. The Dils - Class War
6. The Deadbeats - Brainless
7. Simpletones - I Like Drugs
8. T.S.O.L. - World War III
9. Eyes - TAQN
10. The Hollywood Squares - Hollywood Square
11. The Deadbeats - Final Ride
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal