Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

THE BELL THAT NEVER TOLLS Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set


Label: Diverse Records
Release Date: 26 February 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add THE BELL THAT NEVER TOLLS Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £19.99

LAU THE BELL THAT NEVER TOLLS Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

Lau are modern folk music’s most innovative band. Brilliant musicians, thrilling performers and free-thinking visionaries. In 2007 their debut album ‘Lightweights and Gentlemen’ mixed original tunes with inspired arrangements of traditional material and rocketed Lau to the fore of the burgeoning new folk scene, soon followed by a staggering onslaught of awards that includes an unprecedented three consecutive wins as Best Group at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards.

The Bell That Never Rang is the hugely anticipated new album from the U.K’s most musically revered and celebrated folk trio Lau, recorded and produced in Scotland by Brooklyn based artist /producer Joan Wasser (Joan As Police Woman). Lau have picked up four awards for ‘Best Group’ at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards and the individual members have all won multiple awards and recognition for their acclaimed solo works. Lau comprises Kris Drever (vocals, guitar), Martin Green (accordion, wurlitzer, keys, electronics) and Aidan O’Rourke (fiddle) and together they continue to effortlessly bridge the seemingly diametrically opposed worlds of acoustic folk tradition and electronica. As THE GUARDIAN says of the trio ‘Lau are a remarkable band - the most musically adventurous trio in British folk exquisite and hypnotic, musicianship at its best.’

At the heart of the new album lies the epic seventeen-minute, collaborative title track, with The Elysian Quartet.

Elsewhere on the album echoes of the downtown New York music scene (inhabited by new album producer Joan Wasser – aka Joan As Police Woman) can be heard influencing Lau’s artistic vision. Singer-guitarist Kris Drever’s heartfelt lyrics come wrapped in brittle electric guitar, deep soundscapes and haunting string melodies.

The deluxe 180g double vinyl version includes bonus material. The package contains a CD of ‘The Bell That Never Tolls’.

Featured Tracks:
Side 1
1. First Homecoming
2. Death of the Dining Car
3. Back In Love Again
4. Armoured Man

Side 2
1. The Bell That Never Rang
2. Ghosts

Side 3
1. The Bell That Never Rang (Radio Edit)
2. Sunken Waltz (Calexico)
3. One Hour In Hungary (Väsen)
4. Far From Portland (Acceptable Wonk Mix)
5. Armoured Man Interlude
6. The Death of the Dining Car (Hanegi Mix)

Side 4
7. Tiger Hill (Night Music Mix)
8. Lucky Old Sun
9. Back To The Fens (Horizontigo Revisted)
10. Elysian Table Synth
11. Elysian Me
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal