Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

THE LAST POETS Limited Gatefold 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP


Release Date: 30 December 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add THE LAST POETS Limited Gatefold 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP To Basket 16.99

THE LAST POETS Self Titled Limited Gatefold 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP

The seminal debut from hip-hop pioneers on heavyweight vinyl. Generally recognised as one of the first ever rap groups, The Last Poets' groundbreaking fusion of minimalist African beats with uncompromising lyrics dealing with life in the ghetto, civil rights and social injustice caused a major sensation when their eponymous debut album made the U.S. Top Ten album chart in 1970. The group's militant message and delivery, coupled with their support for The Black Panthers, made them highly controversial at the time leading to the group's second album, 1971's This Is Madness, being placed on Richard Nixon's Counter-Intelligence programming list. Their pioneering sound continues to influence today's funk and hip-hop scenes, with their mark being heard on countless black musicians over the years. This vinyl edition is pressed on heavyweight (180g) vinyl and is packaged in a gatefold sleeve.

Featured Tracks:
1 Run, Nigger [ 01:10 ]
2 On The Subway [ 01:30 ]
3 Niggers Are Scared Of Revolution [ 05:16 ]
4 Black Thighs [ 01:26 ]
5 Gashman [ 02:41 ]
6 Wake Up, Niggers [ 02:48 ]

1 New York, New York [ 02:41 ]
2 Jones Comin` Down [ 02:48 ]
3 When The Revolution Comes [ 02:29 ]
4 Just Because [ 02:26 ]
5 Black Wish [ 01:46 ]
6 Two Little Boys [ 01:47 ]
7 Surprises [ 02:05 ]
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal