Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

An Abundance of Strawberries Limited Coloured Vinyl LP + Download


Release Date: 15 January 2016
Format: LP Vinyl

Add An Abundance of Strawberries Limited Coloured Vinyl LP + Download To Basket £15.99

JULIA BROWN An Abundance of Strawberries Limited Coloured Vinyl LP + Download

In every way, Julia Brown’s only full-length record An Abundance of Strawberries defies expectations. Their final release, Strawberries was recorded largely after the band had broken up. Rather than scrap a large amount of material, songwriter Sam Ray and violist and singer Caroline White decided to finish the record with a rotating cast of musicians, including the original band members Alec Simke and John Toohey, as well as Sean Mercer, Warren Hildebrand, Alex Giannascoli, Abby Trunfio, and others. Largely eschewing traditional band arrangements, they worked heavily with samples – drum machines, breaks, and bird calls in lieu of traditional percussion, 808s in place of basslines – before layering arrangements of strings, pianos, horns, and omnichord on top alongside lush harmonies and oft-affected vocals. The result is a meticulous record that sounds like nothing and everything at once. Both celebratory and melancholy, it nods toward a lineage of pop and indie-pop artists from Ellie Greenwich to Heavenly and more experimental acts like Fog, Cotton Candy Collective, Spiritualized and Duster. Originally slated for a proper release in 2014, the album was given out for free via email & dropbox before being widely disseminated on social media, youtube, and torrent sites at Ray’s behest. A year later, it’s finally seeing the light of day as a beautiful 12” record – replete with bonus tracks, and a limited amount of prints and photo booklets – and also cassettes, CDs, and a more formal digital release. Available January 15 from the newly minted Joy Void Records via Run For Cover.

Featured Tracks:
1. An Abundance of Strawberries
2. Snow Day
3. All Alone In Bed
4. 25 Days (May 15)
5. Without You (full)
6. Abby's Song
7. You Can Always Hear Birds
8. The Way You Want
9. Loved
10. The Body Descends
11. Possession (full)
12. Closing (On A Roof)
13. Bloom
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal