Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Black Sheep Boy (10th Anniversary Edition) Limited Vinyl 3LP Set

Okkervil River

Label: Jagjaguwar
Release Date: 04 December 2015
Format: LP Triple Vinyl

Add Black Sheep Boy (10th Anniversary Edition) Limited Vinyl 3LP Set To Basket £29.99

Okkervil River Black Sheep Boy (10th Anniversary Edition) Limited Vinyl 3LP Set

In celebration of the ten-year anniversary of this iconic album, Jagjaguwar is proud to present the Black Sheep Boy Anniversary Edition, a three-LP set combining the classic Black Sheep Boy album and its counterpart the Black Sheep Boy Appendix with an all new unreleased album entitled There Swims a Swan: full-band recordings made six months prior to the release of Black Sheep Boy which illuminate the album's roots in the traditional American songbook. Featuring beautiful, emotional readings of songs popularized by such artists as Washington Phillips, Lead Belly, the Louvin Brothers, and Roscoe Holcomb, There Swims a Swan takes the listener on a trip through the songs that inspired Sheff while composing Black Sheep Boy and reads like a run-through of that album's themes. Black Sheep Boy is celebrated for its album artwork as well as its music, and the Anniversary Edition collects that artwork in a meticulously reworked package, combining every previous element of William Schaff's imagery with a large new piece by Schaff depicting an updated Black Sheep Boy. The release also includes lengthy liner notes by Will Sheff walking the listener through the circumstances surrounding the album.

For Okkervil River fans (the most high-profile of whom was recently revealed to be President Barack Obama, who included "Down Down the Deep River" on his 2015 summer playlist), the Anniversary Edition is a loving, comprehensive, richly expanded presentation of a record many consider to be one of the band's best. For those new to the band, this might be the best place to start, the first step on a long road, the opening to a forest you can get lost in.

Featured Tracks:
Volume I (LP1)
Black Sheep Boy
For Real
In A Radio Song
Get Big
A King And A Queen
A Stone
The Latest Toughs
Song Of Our So-Called Friend
So Come Back, I Am Waiting
A Glow

Volume II (LP2)
Missing Children
No Key, No Plan
A Garden
Black Sheep Boy #4
The Next Four Months
Another Radio Song
A Forest
Last Love Song For Now

Volume III (LP3)
Goodnight Irene
I’m In Love With Susan Smith
See See Rider
Knoxville Girl
Satan Is Real
Good Liquor Gonna Carry Me Down
Willow Tree
Oh, The Wind And Rain
What Are They Doing In Heaven
Trouble In Mind
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal