Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

ORIGINALS Limited Vinyl LP


Release Date: 06 November 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add ORIGINALS Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £14.99


Neo-rockabilly band Restless have been on the scene, on and off, for more than thirty years and with the passing of time have become a band with cult status. The main man of the group is undoubtedly singer and guitarist extraordinaire Mark Harman. He's an exceptional musician, rightly acclaimed as one of the best guitar axes in the rockabilly world.
The band was formed in Ipswich in the late 1970's when Mark and his brother Paul were joined by drummer Ben Cooper. From the very beginning Mark Harman wrote strong new original numbers and among these efforts are some of the greatest rockabilly songs of the last thirty years.
Restless' debut album, "Why Don't You Just Rock!", was released on Nervous Records in 1982 and is definitely a classic on its own terms. The a whole new scene, fronted by Stray Cats, Polecats and The Blue Cats and called neo-rockabilly, had exploded on the continent, especially in Holland, Belgium, France and Germany, so the band inevitably headed there. The freedom of exploiting their music in the home country was not allowed 'til later, when they played the legendary venues like the Klubfoot, Brixton Academy, Hammersmith Palais, Lyceum and the Town And Country supporting bands like The Damned, Spear Of Destiny, The Pogues, The Clash and The Ramones.
After the follow-up album, "Do You Feel Restless", brothers Mark and Paul fell out, resulting in Paul leaving the group to be replaced by Jeff Bayly. The band's sound altered with the addition of guitarist Mick Malone, and they signed with ABC and their profile went through the roof. They pushed their third album "After Midnight" and the singles "Somebody Told Me" and "Just A Friend" with appearances on Radio 1's Saturday Night.
Fast forward thousands of gigs, several albums and many line-up changes and the original trio of Mark Harman, Paul Harman and Ben Cooper found themselves together again in June 2015 recording a new album. An experience of itself, recording the album in the middle of nowhere in the rural Finnish countryside, was an exhausting but highly creative period of six days. As the title of the album, Originals, says it is the original line up of the band, but it is also only new original songs written by Mark Harman and Ben Cooper.
Over the years Restless have managed to create a sound that is at once identifiable. Their onstage energy appeals year after year to the thriving neo-rockabilly scene and they have become regular house-packers where ever they toured and their appearance is always a guaranteed showstopper.

Featured Tracks:
1. Don't Say It Unless You Will
2. Get Away
3. I Wanna Get It With You
4. The Fool
5. Maraca Man
6. Rat-A-Tat-Tat
7. Runaway Train
8. I Want It All
9. Travellin' Man
10. I've Got To Pay The Man [LP only track]
11. Gonna Have Some Fun [LP only track]
12. Some Folk
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal