Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Ork Records: New York, New York Limited 4LP Vinyl Set

Various Artists

Label: Numero
Release Date: 30 October 2015
Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Add Ork Records: New York, New York Limited 4LP Vinyl Set To Basket £54.99

Various Artists Ork Records: New York, New York Limited 4LP Vinyl Set

Where in the mythos of punk is there room for a frizzy-haired cinephile San Diegan? How could the defining rock attitude and look of the late 1970s get brainstormed by two go-nowheres from a boarding school in Hockessin, Delaware - a D student and kid voted Most Unknown by his senior class?

Forget the worn-out yarns about London gobbers and safety-pin piercings - the true story of the birth of punk rock on 45 is the story of Ork Records, captured by Numero Group on four hefty LPs (or two shiny compact discs) and told across 120 high-gloss pages (184 for the CD) filled with insider photos and sordid details. It is a story populated by iconic names like Television, Alex Chilton, Lester Bangs, Richard Hell, the Feelies, Patti Smith, Talking Heads, Brian Eno, Blondie and the Ramones. And it’s a tale told from the hallowed grounds of CBGB, Max’s Kansas City, and Ardent Studios.

It all began with Terry Ork, a Jewish SoCal film nerd enthralled by Andy Warhol’s posse as they made a transgressive surfing flick, who moved cross-country to manage a movie memorabilia shop on the grubby streets of the Lower East Side. Made in the shadows of disco and dereliction in late-‘70s Manhattan, Ork Records: New York, New York is not just the genesis of punk, it is the birth of the New York City scene and indie culture, as we know it.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Little Johnny Jewel - Television
2. Fa Ce-la - The Feelies
3. (I Belong to The) Blank Generation - Richard Hell
4. The Way (You Touch My Hand) - The Revelons
5. I Won't Give Up - Erasers
6. All of the Time - Alex Chilton
7. (I Thought) You Wanted to Know - Chris Stamey & The dB's
8. Zero - The Prix
9. Red Lights - Marbles
10. Take Me Home & Make Me Like It - Alex Chilton
11. Girl - The Prix
12. Girl That I Love - The Idols
13. Lost Johnny - Mick Farren & The New Wave
14. Still Wanna Die - Cheetah Chrome
15. You - The Idols
16. Christmas Weather - The Student Teachers
17. It Was So Funny (The Song That They Sung) - Erasers
18. (I Could Live With You) (In) Another World - Richard Hell
19. The Summer Sun - Chris Stamey
20. Free Again - Alex Chilton
21. (I Thought) You Wanted to Know - Richard Lloyd & The dB's
22. Channel 13 - The Student Teachers
23. Where the Fun Is - Chris Stamey
24. Everytime I Close My Eyes - The Prix

Disc: 2
1. Forces at Work - The Feelies
2. Fire and Smoke - Marbles
3. 97 Tears - The Revelons
4. Take Me Home - Cheetah Chrome
5. You Gotta Lose - Richard Hell
6. If and When - Chris Stamey & The dB's
7. Play With Fire - Mick Farren & The New Wave
8. Get Off My Cloud - Richard Lloyd
9. The Singer Not the Song - Alex Chilton
10. Connection - Richard Lloyd
11. Summertime Blues - Alex Chilton
12. To Know Him Is to Love Him - Mick Farren & The New Wave
13. Crazy Like a Fox - Link Cromwell
14. Shock Me - Link Cromwell
15. I Wanna Be the King - Kenneth Higney
16. Let It Blurt - Lester Bangs
17. Bangkok - Alex Chilton
18. Big Black Truck - Peter Holsapple
19. She Might Look My Way - The Prix
20. Can't Seem to Make You Mine - Alex Chilton
21. Love You All Day Long - The Prix
22. Shakin' the World - Alex Chilton
23. Love You Tonight - The Prix
24. Live - Lester Bangs
25. Funky Kinky - Kenneth Higney
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal