Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Greatest Hits Limited Vinyl LP

Ann Peebles

Label: Fat Possum / Hi Records
Release Date: 23 October 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Greatest Hits Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £16.99

Ann Peebles Greatest Hits Limited Vinyl LP

First vinyl release of Ann Peebles’ ‘Greatest Hits’ on the Hi Records label (under licence to Fat Possum).

A delicate, slinky figure with a powerhouse voice, Ann Peebles occupied a special place among the many great talents that roamed the halls of Memphis’ iconic R&B label Hi Records in the 1960s and 1970s. While producer Willie Mitchell was the company’s heart, musicians the Hodges Brothers its soul and Al Green its top star, it was Peebles who gave the label its first national success and a lasting female identity.

Released in the Autumn of 1973, ‘I Can’t Stand The Rain’ would provide the title track and foundation of Peebles’ breakthrough album. Defined by Mitchell’s evocative production touches - including the mesmerising raindrop intro, played on a newly purchased studio gizmo, the electronic timbale - and some of Hi Rhythm’s most supple grooves, the song was transformed into magic.

‘I Can’t Stand The Rain’ would quickly become a Top Ten R&B hit and a Top 40 pop number, earning the admiration of fellow artists like David Bowie and John Lennon - the ex-Beatle declared in Billboard that it was “the best song ever.” The success of the song would also net Peebles a Grammy nomination and send her touring across the world.

Over the course of seven albums and dozens of singles for Hi, Peebles expressed a complex range of moods and emotions in her music. Her songs were alternately pleading (‘Give Me Some Credit’) and defiant (‘I Pity The Fool’), seductive (‘Come To Mama’) and destructive (‘I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down’) but always utterly soulful. Even so many years later, Peebles’ soul remains truly indomitable.

Featured Tracks:
1. Walk Away
2. Give Me Some Credit
3. Part Time Love
4. I Pity The Fool
5. Slipped, Tripped, Fell In Love
6. Breaking Up Somebody's Home
7. Somebody's On Your Case
8. I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down
9. I Can't Stand The Rain
10. (You Keep Me) Hangin' On
11. Do I Need You
12. Beware
13. Come To Mama
14. Dr. Love Power
15. I Didn't Take Your Man
16. Old Man With Young Ideas
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal