Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Battering Ram Limited Vinyl/CD Box Set


Label: UDR
Release Date: 16 October 2015
Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Add Battering Ram Limited Vinyl/CD Box Set To Basket £29.99

SAXON Battering Ram Limited Vinyl/CD Box Set

Legendary British heavy metal quintet Saxon’s 21st studio album boasts a clinically ‘heavy’ echo of their glorious NWOBHM sound, who never dealt in half-truths or incomplete missions. With previous album Sacrifice they filled your heads with heavy metal thunder, and now Saxon want nothing more than to crush them with their very own, hand-crafted, not-safe-for-children brand new album, Battering Ram. Not. A. Problem. With Biff Byford singing as well as he ever has, Paul Quinn and Doug Scarratt making full use of the term ‘shredding’ with their guitars and the lock-steady rhythm of Nibbs Carter’s bass and Nigel Glockler’s drums, the future and the past crash together in an ear-scintillatingly engaging, raucous, melodic-yet-classically heavy ten songs collection which will instantly be hailed as a Saxon classic. The title track, with its delectable twin guitar assault heralding the album’s commencement, gives the listener an instant crack around the chops, whilst traditionalists will be delighted to hear such a perfect marriage of old, classic Saxon with the newer, fresher invective in such riff-fronted fare as “Destroyer” and “Stand Your Ground”, but there are still moments of space and exploration which fans will love. “This one’s a natural progression from Sacrifice,” says Byford, “There’s a bit less rock’n’roll and a bit more ‘heavy’ on it. We wanted to keep focused on a style rather than moving around too much.” Produced by Andy Sneap (Megadeth, Testament, Exodus Accept) at his Backstage Recording Studios in rural Derbyshire, Saxon were able to hone in and whittle down any excess, finding the sonic space and balance to let Battering Ram’s riffs and melodies get the necessary space to scream front and centre. Limited Edition Deluxe Boxset contains: Studio Album on CD and Gatefold Vinyl, Bonus disc with “Saxon Over Sweden 2011 – Denim & Leather Tour” + T-shirt and small patch.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Battering Ram
2. The Devil's Footprint
3. Queen Of Hearts
4. Destroyer
5. Hard and Fast
6. Eye of The Storm
7. Stand Your Ground
8. Top Of The World
9. To The End
10. Kingdom Of The Cross
11. Three Sheets To The Wind (The Drinking Song)

Disc: 2
1. Intro & Hammer Of The Gods (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
2. Heavy Metal Thunder (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
3. Motorcycle Man (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
4. Back in '79 (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
5. Never Surrender (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
6. Fire in the Sky (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
7. Midnight Rider (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
8. And The Bands Played On (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
9. The Eagle Has Landed (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
10. Play It Loud (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
11. Rough and Ready (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
12. Out Of Control (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
13. Denim And Leather (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
14. Princess Of The Night (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
15. 747 (Strangers In The Night) [Saxon Over Sweden 2011] [Live]
16. Crusader (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
17. Strong Arm Of The Law (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
18. Wheels Of Steel (Saxon Over Sweden 2011) [Live]
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal