Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

BOOTLEG SERIES 4: NEWPORT Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl 8LP Box Set


Label: Music On Vinyl
Release Date: 23 October 2015
Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Out of Stock 79.99

MILES DAVIS BOOTLEG SERIES 4: NEWPORT Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl 8LP Box Set

Miles Davis' 20-year association as an artist at impresario George Wein's renowned Newport Jazz Festival is a thriving tradition that will be celebrated with the release of Miles Davis At Newport 1955-1975: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4. The 8-LP box set, comprised of live performances by Miles' stellar band lineups in 1955, 1958, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1973, and 1975, in Newport, Rhode Island, New York City, Berlin, and Switzerland.

The newest entry in the critically-acclaimed Miles Davis Bootleg Series, contains hours of previously unreleased material. From Miles' debut performance at NJF in 1955 (a hastily arranged jam session featuring Thelonious Monk and Gerry Mulligan, that immediately led to the trumpeter's Columbia signing), to his final public performance of the '70s in 1975, the box set traces the ascendance of Miles' music as the Jazz superstar he has become known to be.

The full-length concert performances alone of Miles' famed "Kind Of Blue" Sextet (with Cannonball Adderley, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers, and Jimmy Cobb), and second great quintet in '66 and '67 (with Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, and Tony Williams) represent templates that reverberate in jazz and popular music to this day.

180 gram audiophile vinyl
8LPbox set incl. 4 hours of previously unreleased material from 8 live festival performances
Printed innersleeves
12 page booklet + poster

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Spoken Introductions By Duke Ellington And Gerry Mulligan
2. Hackensack
3. 'Round Midnight
4. Now's The Time
5. Introduction By Willis Connover
6. Ah-Leu-Cha

Disc: 2
1. Straight, No Chaser
2. Fran-Dance
3. Two Bass Hit
4. Bye Bye Blackbird
5. The Theme

Disc: 3
1. Gingerbread Boy
2. All Blues
3. Stella By Starlight
4. R.J.
5. Seven Steps To Heaven
6. The Theme / Closing Announcement
7. Element / Closing Announcement

Disc: 4
1. Spoken Introduction By Del Shields
2. Gingerbread Boy
3. Footprints
4. 'Round Midnight
5. So What
6. The Theme / Closing Announcement

Disc: 5
1. Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
2. Sanctuary
3. It's About That Time / The Theme
4. Band Warming Up / Voice Over Introduction
5. Turnaroundphrase
6. Tune In 5

Disc: 6
1. Ife
2. Untitled Original
3. Tune In 5
4. Mtume

Disc: 7
1. Directions
2. What I Say
3. Sanctuary
4. It's About That Time

Disc: 8
1. Bitches Brew
2. Funky Tonk
3. Sanctuary
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal