Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

My Personal Culloden Limited Vinyl LP + Download

Jock Scot

Label: Forever Heavenly
Release Date: 14 August 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add My Personal Culloden Limited Vinyl LP + Download To Basket 16.99

Jock Scot My Personal Culloden Limited Vinyl LP + Download

Jock Scot was born in 1952 and grew up in Musselburgh, near Edinburgh. A remarkable post-punk musical Zelig, Jock has worked with artists including The Clash, Ian Dury, Vivian Stanshall, Taj Mahal and The B52s - as press officer, roadie, housekeeper and, most particularly, Imperial Lord Of Good Vibes. From the 1990s onward Jock reinvented himself as a rampaging rock poet and has read his material in concert at the invitation of bands including The Libertines, Belle & Sebastian and British Sea Power.
The My Personal Culloden album features bewitching backing music from The Nectarine No. 9, led by Davy Henderson, formerly of the Fire Engines and Win, currently frontman with the Sexual Objects. With Jock sounding like a more disruptive version of Sean Connery, My Personal Culloden is a beautiful, emotive tour de force - words addressing girls, drugs, extinct volcanoes, French rugby and Ronnie Wood over a backing sounds that ranges from Captain Beefheart to the Radiophonic Workshop to field recordings of bees in an Edinburgh garden. My Personal Culloden is an undimming blend of incantation and amplified sound - the post-punk answer to the revered albums of words-and-music that John Betjeman made for Charisma Records in the 1970s.

The Heavenly reissue will be on both CD and excelsior vinyl, with extensive new sleeve notes and additional visuals.

Featured Tracks:
1. Easy to Write
2. Gay Paean to Thierry
3. Above the Volcano
4. Someone's Yearning
5. Tape Your Head On
6. Just Another F**ked Up Litttle Druggy
7. Farewell to FERODO
8. There's a Hole in Daddy's Arm
9. Good God
10. Domestic Bliss
11. Thunder Over Kilburn
12. A Certain Beauty
13. Norman Vaughan's Blues
14. The Underdog
15. While Cars Passing By
16. All Over the World, Girls Are Dreaming
17. Nuts
18. Going Off Someone
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal