Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Yours Etc ABC Limited Vinyl LP

Micko Westmoreland

Label: Landline Records
Release Date: 14 August 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Yours Etc ABC Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £16.99

Micko Westmoreland Yours Etc ABC Limited Vinyl LP

Landline Records will be launching in August 2015 with a vinyl release of the latest album by Micko Westmoreland titled ‘Yours Etc Abc’. Micko follows up to the 2009 mercury long list contender,‘Wax and Wayne’ (Sartorial records) with an album packed full of intricate songs that play heavily on good old fashioned hooks, coupled with a well honed sense of musical experimentation. This is Micko’s fourth full-length release, and follows a previous liaison with Interscope – ‘One Pound Note’ followed by ‘Fabrications’ (Spiky records) under the moniker of ‘The Bowling Green’.

Yours Etc features guests; Mark ‘Bedders’ Bedford (Madness), Mickey Gallagher (The Animals/The Blockheads) and Terry Edwards (PJ Harvey/Franz Ferdinand/Gallon Drunk) – A personnel of key British players from the 60’s/70’s right up to present day. As a result the sound is very much reminiscent of 1966 meets 1980 but as a contemporary incarnation; well constructed songs dealing with issues of desperation, sexualisation and alienation.

In between recent releases Micko has been firming up his soundtrack credentials by often working with brother Wash Westmoreland – Director of ‘Still Alice’, winner - Best Actress award for Julianne Moore (2015 Oscars). Film fans will also know Micko from his acting role as the reclusive glam rock star Jack Fairy starring alongside Ewan McGregor and Christian Bale in the Todd Haynes film ‘Velvet Goldmine’ from way back.

Westmoreland on the sound: “Musically the album took flight with a 60’s guitar ensemble, and an investigation into a certain type of playing, using particular arrangements to entertain and create sonic interest. Lyrically I started to write about different personalities I’d come across down the line, situations that didn’t seem to add up. I used those observations, experiences and how I felt, to meditate on the type of songs I wished to write. Opening track ‘Freaksville’ sets the tone wonderfully with a wistful guitar underpinning tales of being coerced into conformity, not by society or the jobcentre but by your own partner, evident in lyrics such as “Is this a marriage made in heaven? It’s funny sometimes how I have to repeat the question”.

Present concerns about the age of austerity are raised in the charged vibe of ‘Schmescos’. In ‘A place for everything’ we hear about obsessive compulsive disorder; “Wearing down friendships until the bitter end”, then the album bounces into the wonderful trio of ‘Yours Etc Abc’, ‘Casting Couch’ and ‘What do you bring to the party’. On the title track the characteristic chiming 12 string Rickenbacker guitar picks up just where others have left off.

As we reach ‘The Facts of life’ there are tales of girls reading dirty magazines on trains – well this is a journey through life – warts and all. Psychic TV cover ‘Godstar’ tells the story of feted Rolling Stone, Brian Jones – are we really all abandoned in the end?
With closing track ‘Brighter shade’, Hollywood should surely come calling again for more soundtrack work. A sublime ending to an ingenious record: Micko’s latest ride through a musical and personal history. Sleeve Design is by Ian McDonnell, featuring the 2009 painting "Every Relationship Comes With a Clock Attached" by Harry Pye & Kes Richardson. On the inside flip of the gatefold sleeve is the new magnificent Brian Jones swimming pool painting by Team Beswick & Pye.

Micko Westmoreland is also presently the youngster in the Travelling Wilburys MK 2! A side project called ‘The Spammed” with the legendary Neil Innes (Monty Python/The Rutles), Horace Panter (The Specials), Rat Scabies (The Damned) and Kevin Eldon (BBC2 series ‘It’s Kevin”), with all proceeds going to charity. Yours Etc Abc is being officially launched on 10th September by means of a pop art show at the A Side B Side gallery in Hackney, London; with artworks and videos commissioned specially for the album. So tons going on and lots to talk about.

Featured Tracks:
1. Freaksville
2. Schmescos
3. A Place of Everything
4. Yours Etc Abc
5. Casting Couch
6. What Do You Bring to the Party
7. The Vampire Song
8. The Facts of Life
9. Cliché (Paints a Lie)
10. Godstar
11. Brighter Shade
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal