Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Illinois Blues 1973 Limited Edition Translucent Red Vinyl LP

Canned Heat

Label: Cleopatra Records
Release Date: 21 August 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Illinois Blues 1973 Limited Edition Translucent Red Vinyl LP To Basket £18.99

Canned Heat Illinois Blues 1973 Limited Edition Translucent Red Vinyl LP

;; The Heat get down and dirty in Illinois on this vintage live album recorded in support of
the group’s 9th studio album, the 1973 classic The New Age!
;; CH stalwarts Bob Hite, Henry Vestine, and Fito de la Parra are joined by Bob’s younger
brother Richard on bass, guitarist James Shane, and keyboardist Ed Beyer for smokin' hot
versions of blues classics “Shake, Rattle And Roll,” “So Long Wrong,” “Goodbye For Now”
and more!
;; Available on both CD and limited edition translucent red vinyl!
A hard-luck blues band of the '60s, Canned Heat was founded by blues historians and record collectors Alan
Wilson and Bob Hite. They seemed to be on the right track and played all the right festivals (including
Monterey and Woodstock, making it very prominently into the documentaries about both) but somehow never found a lasting audience.
Certainly their hearts were in the right place. Canned Heat's debut album -- released shortly after their
appearance at Monterey -- was every bit as deep into the roots of the blues as any other combo of the time
mining similar turf, with the exception of the original Paul Butterfield band. Hite was nicknamed "The Bear"
and stalked the stage in the time-honored tradition of Howlin' Wolf and other large-proportioned bluesmen.
Wilson was an extraordinary harmonica player, with a fat tone and great vibrato. His work on guitar,
especially in open tunings (he played on Son House's rediscovery recordings of the mid-'60s, incidentally) gave the band a depth and texture that most other rhythm players could only aspire to. Henry Vestine -- another dyed-in-the-wool record collector -- was the West Coast's answer to Michael Bloomfield and capable of fretboard fireworks at a moment's notice.

Featured Tracks:
1. So Long Wrong
2. Harley Davidson Blues
3. Sore Back Blues
4. Shake, Rattle and Roll
5. Keep It Clean
6. Looking for My Rainbow
7. Rockin' With the King
8. Goodbye for Now
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal