Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Rastafari: The Dreads Enter Babylon 1955-83 - From Nyabinghi, Burro...

VA / Soul Jazz Records Present

Label: Soul Jazz Records
Release Date: 31 July 2015
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Rastafari: The Dreads Enter Babylon 1955-83 - From Nyabinghi, Burro... To Basket £16.99

VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents Rastafari: The Dreads Enter Babylon 1955-83 - From Nyabinghi, Burro and Grounation to Roots and Revelation Limited Deluxe Gatefold Heavyweight Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

Soul Jazz Records' new album Rastafari: The Dreads Enter Babylon 1955-83 charts the many links between reggae music and the Rastafarian faith.
Featuring the music of Count Ossie, Johnny Clarke, The Mystic Revelation of Rastafari, Ras Michael and The Sons of Negus, Bongo Herman, Roy Ashanti (Congos), Earth & Stone, Mutabaruka and many more, this is an in-depth look at some of the most unique and righteous music ever made and comes complete with a 40+ page outsize booklet, containing exclusive photography and extensive historical and contextual sleevenotes.

At the source of the music of Rastafari is the figurehead master drummer and leader Count Ossie, who first brought the deeply spiritual nyabinghi and burro rhythms, heard and played at sacred Rastafarian grounation (reasoning) sessions, into popular Jamaican music through his many collaborations and performances with artists - from The Skatalites to The Folks Brothers - and producers, including Clement Dodd, Prince Buster and Harry Mudie.

At the start of the 1970s Count Ossie formed the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari with saxophonist Cedric Brooks, which immediately became the most significant group of the Rastafari faith, bringing together authentic rasta nyabinghi drumming together with spiritual and avant-garde jazz influences of Sun Ra, Pharoah Sanders and Albert Ayler into a truly unique and groundbreaking sound.

From the earliest proto-rasta beginnings on vinyl, Lord Lebby's 1955 mento recording 'Etheopia', through to the raw, afro-jazz roots sounds of Count Ossie to the deep and heavy roots reggae of the 1970s (Johnny Clarke, Earth & Sound, Roy Ashanti of the Congos and others), this album covers nearly 30 years of revolutionary music.

Deluxe limited-edition heavyweight gatefold-vinyl edition + free download code

Featured Tracks:
1. Africa We Want Fe Go - Count Basie and the Rasta Family
2. None Shall Escape the Judgement - Johnny Clarke
3. Haile Selassie - Laurel Aitken
4. Tales of Mozambique - Count Ossie and the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari
5. Booma Yeah - Ras Michael and The Sons of Negus
6. Say - Mutabaruka
7. African Drums - Bongo Herman and Jah Lloyd
8. Hail the World of Jah - Ashanti Roy
9. Sam's Intro - Count Ossie and the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari
10. Salaam - Bongo Herman, Les and Buny
11. Zion I - Winston and Ansell
12. Zion I Version - Techniques All Stars
13. Ethiopia - Lord Lebby and the Jamaican Calypsonians
14. Soul Drums - Count Ossie & Leslie Butler
15. Rasta Dreadlocks - The Heaven Singers
16. His Imperial Majesty - Rod Taylor
17. Betta Must Come - QQ
18. Jah Will Cut You Down - Earth & Stone
19. Narration - Count Ossie and the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari
20. A Ju Ju Wah - Ronald Downer and Count Ossie
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal