Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

Real People Limited Vinyl LP

Lyrics Born

Release Date: 29 June 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Real People Limited Vinyl LP To Basket 16.99

Lyrics Born Real People Limited Vinyl LP

Twenty-two years after he was introduced to the world with 'Send Them' - the landmark left-field 12-inch that launched the Solesides label b/w DJ Shadow's 'Entropy' - Lyrics Born has made some of the most organic, original and adventurous music of his entire career. While touring with Latyrx, he made time for an extended stay in a place that he has long admired: America's first and last real-deal music town, New Orleans. LB stocked up on pads and pens, rented a cosy house three blocks from the famous Maple Leaf Bar, and booked two weeks' worth of sessions with Galactic guys Robert Mercurio and Ben Ellman at their Uptown studio. Then they let it rip. Funk has always been a part of what Lyrics Born does and his unique vocal swagger dishes out melody and rhyme with equal aplomb. But never has he evoked the idiom so directly or made an album that feels so alive. He turned the production over entirely (also a first) to his NOLA colleagues, giving them space to do what they do best, and him the freedom to write. Mercurio and Ellman wrangled a host of talent to execute the vision: Trombone Shorty, Ivan Neville, the Preservation Jazz Hall Band, Corey Glover (Living Colour), Corey Henry (Rebirth Brass Band), David Shaw (The Revivalists), and Billy Martin. Amidst all that quirk, soul, and raw talent, LB was reborn.

Featured Tracks:
1. Real People
2. Chest Wife Open (feat David Shaw Of The Revivalists)
3. $ir Racha
4. All Hail The Queen (Ma Belle Reine) (feat Ivan Neville Of Dumpstaphunk)
5. Rock-Rock-Away (feat Galactic)
6. Holy Matrimony
7. Around The Bend (feat Ivan Neville Of Dumpstaphunk)
8. Good Riddance
9. WTF? (feat Galactic)
10. Mr D.I.L.L.I.G.A.F. (feat Corey Henry Of Rebirth Brass Band/Treme Funket)
11. In Confidence
12. That's It! (Real People Remix) (feat Preservation Hall Jazz Band)
13. 2nd Act (feat Trombone Shorty & Corey Glover Of Living Colour)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal