Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Presents Disco 2: A Further Fine Indep't Disco, Record B

VA / Soul Jazz Records Present

Label: Soul Jazz Records
Release Date: 29 June 2015
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Presents Disco 2: A Further Fine Indep't Disco, Record B To Basket £16.99

VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents Disco 2: A Further Fine Selection of Independent Disco, Modern Soul and Boogie 1976-80 - Record B Limited Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

· This is a second selection of independent disco records featuring rare and
classic tracks originally released in the USA between the halcyon years of
1977 and 1985.
· This release features only the finest disco, modern soul and boogie and is
compiled by Disco Patrick who last year put together the mighty ‘Disco: An
Encyclopedic Guide To The Cover Art Of Disco Records’ 400+ page deluxe
book for Soul Jazz Records, as well as the first installment of ‘Disco: A Fine
Selection Of Independent Disco, Modern Soul And Boogie.’
· This album is released as a double CD, two separate volumes of double vinyl
(plus free download codes) and a worldwide digital release.
· This album features rare, classic and in demand tracks from the mighty
vaults of labels such as New York’s Salsoul and Miami’s TK Records - which,
during the main disco era, became the main competitors to the major
established record industry - through to killer virtually unknown tracks
released on tiny bespoke one-off labels now impossible to find either in the
history books or record shops of the world.
· Before its mainstream consumption in the late 1970s, disco first emerged
from independent record companies run by lovers of this new sound: Patrick
Adams and Peter Brown, the powerhouse musical partnership based up in
Harlem, New York; Henry Stone at TK, a man with a 30-year old career
distributing black music; or the Cayre brothers at Salsoul, linking Latin roots
with the deep, soulful music emerging from Philadelphia and New York.
· In fact, as we can see on this album, Harlem was to prove a fertile ground
of nascent independent disco with numerous young producers, alongside
leaders of the pack Patrick Adams and Peter Brown, hustling to release oneoff
or a couple of singles on their own independent labels.
· All the music on this album has been sonically and digitally remastered with
love and is presented complete with sleevenotes, original label artwork and
full length extended disco editions.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Pay the Price - Stevo
2. Summertime - High Frequency
3. Groove On Down - Dunn Pearson Junior
4. Cosmic Funk - Mad Dog Fire Department
5. Rock-a-freak - Needa

Disc: 2
1. Disco Strut - Cream De Coco
2. What Can I Do to Make You Dance - Anita Maldonado
3. Come Inside - Shades of Love
4. Micro Wave Boogie - Skip Jackson & The Natural Experience
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal