Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Out Calls Only Limited Vinyl LP

Donald Cumming

Label: Washington Square
Release Date: 15 June 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Out Calls Only Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £18.99

Donald Cumming Out Calls Only Limited Vinyl LP

Donald Cumming, former lead singer of the rock band The Virgins, is set to release his debut solo album on June 15th, 2015 on Washington Square, the label imprint formed by Razor & Tie.

Longtime East Village resident, Cumming has been intimately involved in the music and art scenes of downtown New York since he was a teenager. After being featured on the cover of Ryan McGinley’s debut book of photos in 2002, he continued to work as a model and actor before forming The Virgins.

The band released two critically acclaimed albums, receiving accolades and rave reviews in outlets such as Rolling Stone, Vogue and The New York Times. NME called their last album a “dynamic listen” and described “how classic it sounds, Cumming’s posturing sounding as if it’s been lifted straight from a forgotten vinyl covered in dust and suspicious stains. It’s Dire Straits teamed with louche New York cool – a combination that shouldn’t work, but totally does.”

Cumming and his new band recently kicked off their album release campaign at New York's Symphony Space, as part of punk rock legend and author Richard Hell's interview and performance series, Night Out With Richard Hell. March 2015 he supported Brandon Flowers at his NYC solo show.

Recorded at East Village Recording Center with additional work done at Sullivan Street Studios in Manhattan, Out Calls Only boasts a sound that transcends The Virgins second and final album, 2013’s Strike Gently (released on Julian Casablancas' Cult Records).

Cumming explains, "I don't listen to a lot of contemporary music but it seems to a trend that favors aesthetics over content. I don't have a sound that I'm looking for as much as I just want to be as sincere as possible."
The talented musicians who accompany him on Out Calls Only, include bassist Ian Fenger, drummer Skip Johnson, and lead guitarists Jack Byrne and Jack Straw. For Cumming, working with producers Johnny T. Yerington and Gus Osberg, in an organic and loose fashion was tantamount to the outcome of Outcalls.

Featured Tracks:
1. Game of the Heart
2. Sometimes Sweet Susan
3. Shadow Tears
4. In the Early Hours
5. Scarecrow
6. Workin' It Out
7. Lonesome for You
8. Break the Seal
9. Total Darkness
10. Spanish Horses
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal