Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

PAY ATTENTION! Limited Vinyl LP + Download


Label: Warp
Release Date: 01 June 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add PAY ATTENTION! Limited Vinyl LP + Download To Basket £16.99

THE MOTHMEN PAY ATTENTION! Limited Vinyl LP + Download

· Lost post-punk classic from 1980. A unique mixture of noisy riffs, angular pop melodies and dubwise production aesthetic.
· Second ever album release on On-U Sound, never issued before on CD.
· Features former members of Durutti Column and future members of Simply Red.
· Can be filed alongside early work by Wire, Gang Of Four and Public Image Limited. Uncannily predates later work by contemporary bands such as Liars and Battles.
· Remastered from the original tapes and fully annotated with sleevenotes by the band, plus photos and memorabilia.
· Both formats include six bonus tracks, 3 of which are previously unheard. The LP includes these tracks as a digital download.
· The Mothmen emerged from the ashes of two legendary Manchester groups - comedy / satire band Alberto Y Lost Trios Paranoias and the first line up of Factory Records band The Durutti Column. They also contributed to the beginnings of long running dub collective Suns Of Arqa.
· Band members Chris Joyce and Tony Bowers went onto become the rhythm section in the classic 80s line-up of Simply Red, whilst multi-instrumentalist Bob Harding ran lauded reggae reissue label Blood & Fire.
· A missing part of the early On-U Sound Records story restored to life and a great example of early-80s UK DIY post-punk music. At times exhibiting psych-tinged tunefulness on tracks such as ‘Not Moving’ and ‘Change Direction’ (or their unreleased cover of Syd Barrett’s ‘Vegetable Man’).
· Other tracks are heavier, such as the trance-inducing repetitive rhythms of ‘Mothman’, which recalls 70s German groups such as Can or Amon Düül II.

Featured Tracks:
1. Afghan Farmer Driving Cattle
2. Animal Animaux
3. Not Moving
4. Factory / Teapoint / Factory
5. Please Let Go
6. Tardis (Sweep Is Dead, Long Live Sweep)
7. Mothman
8. Change Direction (Bonus)
9. Vegetable Man (Bonus)
10. Does It Matter Irene? (radio session version) (Bonus)
11. Return Of The Mozabites (Bonus)
12. Paintings Of A Cave (Bonus)
13. Afghani Dub (Bonus)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal