Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

The Hit Parade Limited 180gram Coloured Vinyl 2LP Set

The Wedding Present

Release Date: 08 January 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add The Hit Parade Limited 180gram Coloured Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £24.99

The Wedding Present The Hit Parade Limited 180gram Coloured Vinyl 2LP Set

For the first time presented on one double album, each of the 12 singles released in 1987 with is accompanying B side. Remastered and pressed on 180g coloured vinyl, each disc comes in a newly designed inner bag and packaged in a heavyweight outer sleeve. Back the hey days of the explosion of the British indie rock scene, David Gedges Wedding Present were amongst the pioneers. Fast paced and obviously influenced by The Fall, Buzzcocks and Gang Of Four the much heralded 1987 debut George Best was released on their own Reception label. After the early singles and radio sessions were compiled and released as Tommy and the follow up Ukrainian album, the band signed to RCA and released their major labels debut album Bizarro and Seamonsters. Then instead of 'that difficult third album' they took the unusual step in 1987 of releasing one limited edition single a month. This had never been done before by any band, only the legendary Elvis Presley, so it was a brave step. But this was the Wedding Present and under Gedges leadership the plan was a great success. The A side for each single would be an original composition and the B side a cover version, which gave the band the opportunity to put their unique stamp on songs and experiment with some very interesting choices. They took on Isaac Hayes 'Theme From Shaft', David Bowies 'Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family' from his Ziggy inspired Diamond Dogs album. They also looked to more commercial pop material of Altered Images 'Think That It Might' and Bow Wow Wows 'Go Wild In The Country'. Each were given the Gedge treatment that Melody Maker once described as equivalent to 'sandpapering your ears'. All time favorites of sadly departed Radio 1 DJ John Peel they never seemed to be out of the BBC Studios' in Maida Vale. With the resulting sessions being a bonus disc on the original vinyl pressings of the subsequent albums Hit Parade 1 and Hit Parade 2.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Blue Eyes
2. Cattle & Cane
3. Go-Go Dancer
4. Don't Cry No Tears
5. Three
6. Think That It Might
7. Silver Shorts

Disc: 2
1. Falling
2. Come Play With Me
3. Pleasant Valley Sunday
4. California
5. Let's Make Some Plans

Disc: 3
1. Flying Saucer
2. Rocket
3. Boing! (Album Version)
4. Theme from Shaft
5. Loveslave
6. Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family

Disc: 4
1. Sticky
2. Go Wild in the Country
3. The Queen of Outer Space
4. U.F.O.
5. No Christmas
6. Step Into Christmas
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal