Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Teatime Assortment Limited Vinyl LPTeatime Assortment Limited Vinyl 2L

Martin Newell

Label: Captured Tracks
Release Date: 25 May 2015
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Teatime Assortment Limited Vinyl LPTeatime Assortment Limited Vinyl 2L To Basket £26.99

Martin Newell Teatime Assortment Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Since before he was even able to play an instrument, Martin Newell was messing around with home-recordings. Having grown up in the Far East, Newell returned to his home of England at age 13 with just a little 3-inch spool tape-recorder and his first guitar. At age 14 he wrote his first song, not even knowing any chords. His song writing continued through is teens and into his 20s, when he purchased a Sony reel-to-reel recorder and 12 string guitar. It is this early songwriting that led him working with a wide variety of musicians, recording in beautiful studios and forming his many projects such as Cleaners from Venus and Brotherhood of Lizards. But it was this early songwriting and recording that led him to find that he was happiest when recording by himself, with minimal equipment. As Newell often says, "Actually, I preferred the demos".
Having upgraded himself from reel-to-reel to a Tascam Pocketstudio and digitizing some of his archaic recording knowledge, Newell set out to begin home recording again. The tracks on this collection run from 2010 to mid 2014. Some are recordings loosely based on movie themes and soundtracks for imaginary films. Some are instrumentals from a collection called The Late District, while others are from a recent album Return to Bohemia, which saw a small release in England. This recent resurgence in creative strength, along with the success and newfound popularity of Cleaners from Venus, have all led up to Teatime Assortment. Think of it as a "Best of New Newell". A true wordsmith, Newell himself has put simply why one might be compelled to take a listen here: "If you're the sort of person who likes this kind of thin, then this is the sort of thing you'll probably like."

Featured Tracks:
1. Wake Up and Dream
2. Ghost of Jenni Rainbyrd
3. English Electric
4. Sunken City
5. St. Overdoes-on-sea
6. Secret Stations
7. All the Lights in This House
8. Dear Wesley
9. Shabby Heart
10. The Stars On a Tray
11. Back in the Day
12. Carol For
13. Essex Girls
14. Saturday Games
15. Twinkie
16. Idol
17. The Lost Summer
18. Sunnytown Way
19. He's Goin' Out With Marilyn
20. The Days of Mary
21. The Royal Bank of Love
22. The King of the Sixties
23. Time We Talked Again
24. Imaginary Seas
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal