Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Johnny Rocket, Narcissist & Music Machine Ltd Vinyl LP + 12

The Eccentronic Research Counc

Label: Without Consent
Release Date: 18 May 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Johnny Rocket, Narcissist & Music Machine Ltd Vinyl LP + 12 To Basket £16.99

The Eccentronic Research Council Johnny Rocket, Narcissist & Music Machine…I’m Your Biggest Fan Limited Vinyl LP + 12 Inch

The Eccentronic Research Council’s fabulous fourth album, Johnny Rocket, Narcissist And Music Machine…I’m Your Biggest Fan, released on the Fat White Family’s Without Consent label, is written from the persuasive point of view of an obsessional fan of a local band - The Moonlandingz, who gig around the fictional South Yorkshire district of Valhalla Dale - and how this fan’s behaviour tips over into stalking and then plummets dramatically into something far worse.
ERC are the mysterious Dean Honer (All Seeing I), the manic Adrian Flanagan (Kings Have Long Arms) and the magnificent Maxine Peake (Shameless, Silk) and together have created something which will target your head, your heart, your hips and the medial epicondyle of your humerus (or your funny bone) in equal measures.

It’s a record for our times: a swirling, brightly lit, adrenaline surging, fairground carousel ride of gleaming synth pop, narcotic psych rock, bewitching spoken word and demented avant garde electronics. Like a Chaucerian epic retold by David Peace for a music hall located in Hell, it looks at obsessional behaviour and how this is fueled by our need to document every passing moment on social media. It also deals with the legacy of Thatcher, which is stronger now that she is dead than it was when she was alive. And it also reaffirms the fact that music is one of the only obsessions in life worth having.
The album also sees ERC team up with Lias Saoudi & Saul Adamczewski of South London's The Fat White Family, who ably play the role of the The Moonlandingz, the fictional band at the heart of the story

Featured Tracks:
1. Welcome to Valhalla Dale
2. The John That Fell to Earth
3. I Am Mearly a Flute Lament in the Mind of a Nuisance
4. Introducing the Moonlandingz (The Audience On Trail)
5. The Cooper Effect
6. Ingratiate & Creep & Other Ignorable E-mithers
7. Sweet Saturn Mine
8. Internet Spreads Whilst Wiki Leaks/Real Nite Clubbing
9. Johnny's Spirit Guide Did Not Send for You
10. I Am Your Only Fan/Psyche Ersatz
11. Off the Cloth Moth - Swat
12. Mental Illness in Art, As Explained By an Amateur Psychologist, Sponsored By Google
13. Claptrap Dreams
14. You Ruined My Chippy Thursday (Should of Gone to Codropenia)
15. Time Out (Excellent News)
16. If You Want to Worship - Go to a Church
17. I Spy On J. Rocket & Other Lame Attempts at Leaving Him Alone
18. Excuses, Tall Tales Or Both? (You Decide)
19. Man in Me Lyfe/She Won't Settle Down (Nightmare Version)
20. The Ignorance of Johnny Rocket & the Day the Witch Died
21. The Bus from Hell - One Bird - One Stone
22. Lay Your Head Down On the Road (J.R'S Ghost at Riverside Mix)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal