Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Mask Limited White Vinyl LP

Icky Blossoms

Label: Saddle Creek
Release Date: 18 May 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Mask Limited White Vinyl LP To Basket £16.99

Icky Blossoms Mask Limited White Vinyl LP

Electronic pop trio Icky Blossoms will release their second album, ¬Mask, on May 12th 2015, followed by the vinyl release on May 26th. Three years on from their Dave Sitek (TV on the Radio) produced debut, their singular brand of¬ mesmerizingly contradictory dance ¬music has evolved. Blending avant-garde elements with catchy and danceable pop, threaded ¬within dark, bass-heavy atmospheres, their songs nod to great music of the ¬past, whilst¬ propelling them firmly into the future.¬ Hailing from Omaha, Nebraska, the three members of Icky Blossoms–Sarah Bohling ¬(vocals/synth), Nik Fackler (lead guitar/vocals) and Derek Pressnall¬ (guitar/vocals–also of Tilly and the Wall) wrote independently and then filtered songs back and forth¬ through each other, creating a collage of tastes, genres and energies within each track. The band experimented with making electronics sound organic and¬organic instruments feel electronic. Song skeletons were embellished with tuned¬ 808s, hyper-e ected mouth¬ noises, screams as instruments, and guitars run¬ through synthesizers.

With the talent of long time friend and collaborator Mike Mogis¬ (Bright Eyes, Julian Casablancas, Man Man, First Aid¬ Kit) at ARC Studios in ¬Omaha, Nebraska, these songs became fully realized. Along with Mogis, the¬ contributions of¬ assistant engineer Ben Brodin (Conor Oberst band), bassist ¬Graham Ulicny (Reptar), drummer Daniel Ocanto (Big¬Harp) and Todd Fink (The¬ Faint) helped the vision come into focus. ¬

Mask¬ finds the band capitalizing on the spontaneity of their live ¬experience and the ambitions of their writing and¬ recording process, while not ¬losing their sense of self. Their influences range from Fad Gadget ¬to Beyonce and the¬ subject matter varies from wrestling with the isolation of ¬existence to¬ the emotional spectrum of love.¬ The ¬album pulses with a vibrant sound that’s electric, confident, and new.

Featured Tracks:
1. In Folds
2. Phantasmagoria
3. Living in Fiction
4. Away from You
5. Want You so Bad
6. The Spiral
7. Wait
8. Silver Tongue
9. Terror Nothing
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal