Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

The Silence Limited Vinyl LP

The Silence

Label: Drag City
Release Date: 23 March 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add The Silence Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £18.99

The Silence Self Titled Limited Vinyl LP

· October 2013: While in Spain during his ‘Brain Pulse Music’ European tour, Ghost’s Masaki Batoh ran into his old friend Okano. It was almost pure coincidence - Okano was passing through Saragossa before joining his own tour, booked by the same promoter as Batoh. Okano and Batoh once played together in Ghost, at the time of ‘Lama Rabi Rabi’ and the epic 1996 US tour that followed. Although it had been a long time, they fell into talking. Batoh was considering dissolving Ghost (on hiatus since 2007) and was questioning if he should even stop playing music completely, since he had no idea how to start a new band. They talked for an hour until Okano had to leave but both found it fortuitous that they’d met at this moment and in this
moment they were reunited. They promised each other to pursue new music together when they were back in Japan.
· Spring 2014: Batoh announced the end of Ghost, a band whose first work reached back to 1984. Quick on the heels of this heady announcement, Batoh declared the beginning of The Silence. Still in need of direction, he turned to another old companion and original Ghost-mate of the many years gone by, Ogino. Tasked with the production and arrangement of The Silence, Ogino selected Jan Stigter on bass, Ryuichiro Yoshida on flute and saxophone and himself on organ and piano. With Okano playing drums and percussion and Batoh supplying guitar and vocals, The Silence was complete.
· Summer 2014: Nine songs, including two cover versions, were recorded. Batoh reflected back to when he began, in the early 80s, when analogue was the only option and the recording took place in 24-track studios. The same careful process was observed in making The Silence’s first album without any digital processing at all. Master sound engineer Kondo and his GOK Studio staff were of enormous support in this process. In doing so, they are rejecting the trend towards digitally compressed music, which some might say is a truer path for The Silence. As Batoh tells us, “Silence is heavier than any sound pressure, and the silence which thunders the ears can only be expressed by the silence in the subconscious mind, or created on two channels of open reel tape,” adding, “This was not an act of reminiscence, but one of
consciousness and unconsciousness.” In addition to the basic yogic practice of silent meditation, this is where The Silence derives its name.
· 2015: The debut album from The Silence is at last available. Drawing deep into a collective musical soul that extends many eras into the past, the songs of The Silence fill the air with the richness of powerful rock and roll and the deep mystic resonance of the ancient traditional musics of the world. From the rich melodies of Silence originals ‘Lemon Iro No Cannibis’ and ‘Jewels In Tibet’ to their flute-and-power chordladen
version of ‘Black Is The Colour Of My True Love’s Hair’, to the flowing liquid psychedelia of ‘Triptycon’, the guttural cabaret mutterings of Can’s ‘Tango Whiskeyman’ and the frantic, explosive dimensions of ‘Pesach’, The Silence run through instrumental colours like passing thoughts in the mind, making each one of them music and making an incredible rock album for this century.

Featured Tracks:
1. Lemon Iro No Cannabis
2. Götter Im Exil
3. Jewels in Tibet
4. Black Is the Colour of My True Love's Hair
5. Tango Whiskeyman
6. Triptycon
7. Nana No Open Back Banjo
8. Pesach
9. Overture
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal