Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

The Song is My Story Limited Vinyl LP

Abdullah Ibrahim

Release Date: 30 March 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add The Song is My Story Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £14.99

Abdullah Ibrahim The Song is My Story Limited Vinyl LP

The charismatic Abdullah Ibrahim is South Africa's most distinguished pianist and a world-respected master musician. He released the solo piano album 'The Song Is My Story' - which is now available on LP - to celebrate his 80th birthday, 2014 also marked 20 years since the end of apartheid. Abdullah Ibrahim visited Sacile, Italy in the summer of 2014, played on the legendary "Fazioli" grand piano and visited the workshop where these pianos are crafted. There is a concert hall in Sacile with fantastic instruments, which sound as if they were created especially for Ibrahim. He recorded this album there, a mixture of free improvisations and performances of his classic compositions such as a "For Coltrane" and "African Dawn".

Featured Tracks:
1. Celestial Bird Dance
2. Threshold
3. Open Door - Within
4. Unfettered - Muken
5. Spiral Mist
6. Just Arrived
7. Kalahari Pleiades
8. For Coltrane
9. Twelve By Twelve
10. Shadows Lean Against My Song
11. The Song Is My Story - URA
12. Marinska
13. African Dawn
14. Eclipse At Dawn
15. Phambili - Looking Ahead
16. For Coltrane
17. Children Dance
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal