Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

I Don't Prefer No Blues Limited Vinyl LP

Leo Welch

Label: Big Legal Mess
Release Date: 23 March 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add I Don't Prefer No Blues Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £16.99

Leo Welch I Don't Prefer No Blues Limited Vinyl LP

· At age 82, bluesman Leo ‘Bud’ Welch rocks on stage like a teenager - dancing and spinning as he beats out jagged chords and grimy solos on his pink, sparkle-covered guitar. That raw youthful energy and Welch’s old-school juke-joint jones blend full-throttle in the 10 songs on ‘I Don’t Prefer No Blues’, his second release for Fat Possum Records’ subsidiary Big Legal Mess.
· The album is a garage-blues manifesto that weds waves of prickly six-string distortion and gutbucket drums with Welch’s smoke-andash voice and mud-crusted guitar - and lives up to Fat Possum’s history of producing edgy but deeply rooted recordings by artists like Junior Kimbrough and RL Burnside.
· ‘I Don’t Prefer No Blues’ is the follow-up to last year’s ‘Sabougla Voices’, an all-gospel disc that marked Welch’s debut as both a recording artist and a songwriter. That album was heralded as a fresh breath of rust-bearing air, a throwback to an era of rural music
free of from outside influences and a reminder that blues-fuelled primitivism is still personified by a handful of living Southern artists.
· Playing blues on stage since ‘Sabougla Voices’ release has proven transformative for the octogenarian resident of Bruce, Mississippi. He’s toured parts of the US and Europe and played for audiences of all ages at international festivals and such prestigious events as the Americana Music Association Festival and Conference in Nashville.
· Big Legal Mess label owner and house producer Bruce Watson took the wheel on ‘I Don’t Prefer No Blues’, steering Welch into genreblending sonic and creative territory. “The deal I made with Leo was the first record would be gospel and the second would be blues,” Watson says. “Honestly, I was just trying to do something different than your typical blues record - trying to f*ck things up a bit. I think I succeeded.”
· “Right now is a great point in my life,” says Welch. “I’m doing things I’ve never been able to do before and I feel good doing them at an age when a lot of people are dead. So as long as I can I want to go around the world trying to send satisfaction to people. Doing that is a great feeling to me.”

Featured Tracks:
1. Poor Boy
2. Girl in the Holler
3. I Don't Know Her Name
4. Goin' Down Slow
5. Cadillac Baby
6. Too Much Wine
7. I Woke Up
8. So Many Turnrows
9. Pray On
10. Sweet Black Angel
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal