Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

In the Beginning Limited Deluxe 180gram 3LP Vinyl Set

Wes Montgomery

Release Date: 06 April 2015
Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Add In the Beginning Limited Deluxe 180gram 3LP Vinyl Set To Basket 74.99

Wes Montgomery In the Beginning Limited Deluxe 180gram 3LP Vinyl Set

'In the Beginning' features rare previously unreleased recordings by jazz guitar icon Wes Montgomery spanning the years 1949 to 1958. This deluxe 3-LP set includes 26 newly discovered live and studio recordings.
The LP version is presented on audiophile 180-gram vinyl mastered by engineering legend, Bernie Grundman and pressed on 12" LPs at 33 1/3 RPM by Record Technology Incorporated (R.T.I.). This hand-numbered limited edition pressing of 1,500 is housed in a slipcase with an 8-panel booklet and includes a digital download card and a collection of postcards of unpublished photos.

The set includes a complete 1955 Epic Records session produced by Quincy Jones, newly discovered 78 RPM sides with Wes as a sideman recorded for Spire Records (1949), a live recording from the home of Ervena Montgomery, Indianapolis (1956), live recordings from the Turf Club (1956), the Missile Lounge (1958) in Indianapolis, and the C&C Music Lounge in Chicago (1957).

'In the Beginning' features extensive liner notes, and meticulously designed artwork that have become Resonance Records' trademarks. The 3-LP version includes an 8-panel booklet of liner notes by journalist and noted jazz historian and biographer Ashley Kahn, legendary producer Quincy Jones, guitarist Pete Townshend of The Who, alongside rare never-before-published photos from The Montgomery Estate and friends in Montgomery's native Indianapolis.

Since Wes Montgomery's passing in 1968, only two other albums of predominantly unreleased material have been released - 'Willow Weep for Me' (Verve, 1968) and 'Echoes of Indiana Avenue' (Resonance, 2012). Resonance Records is pleased to introduce the third such archival offering with 'In the Beginning'.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. After You've Gone
2. Fascinating Rhythm
3. Brazil
4. What Is There to Say ?
5. Four
6. Wes' Tune
7. My Heart Stood Still
8. How High the Moon
9. Django

Disc: 2
1. Going Down to Big Mary's
2. I Should Care
3. Caravan
4. Six Bridges to Cross
5. Ralph's New Blues
6. Soft Winds
7. Robbins' Nest

Disc: 3
1. A Night in Tunisia
2. Love for Sale
3. Leila
4. Blues
5. Undecided
6. Far Wes
7. All the Things You Are
8. King Trotter
9. Carlena's Blues
10. Smooth Evening
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal