Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Supafunkanova Volume Two Compiled by Joey Negro & Sean P Ltd Vinyl 2LP

Various Artists

Label: Z Records
Release Date: 02 March 2015
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Supafunkanova Volume Two Compiled by Joey Negro & Sean P Ltd Vinyl 2LP To Basket £16.99

Various Artists Supafunkanova Volume Two Compiled by Joey Negro & Sean P Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

Following on from the phenomenal success of the recent “Italo House” and “Remixed With Love” compilations ZR returns with another humdinger of a compilation to start of 2015.

Supafunkanova Volume 2 has been selected by Joey Negro and Sean P who together have compiled many previous albums including "Disco (Not Disco)", “Destination Boogie” and the ever-popular Soul of Disco series. The dynamic duo continue to dig deep, compiling high quality albums filled with lesser known disco and boogie. As the title suggests, Supafunkanova focuses on the funkier end of the 70’s & 80’s, showcasing some of the bumpier grooves recorded in the disco era when even James Brown had to take notice of the Saturday Night Fever inspired disco explosion. It will come as no surprise to hear some particularly hard to find gems have been unearthed here, and ones that aren't just rare but genuinely merit being re-issued.

We've been working on Volume Two for some time now as the first instalment was released way back in 2007. It takes a while to put these albums together, tracking down the owners of these musical gems, finding the right image for the sleeve but it's finally come together. Once again ZR give outstanding value with 20 tracks spread across a Double CD with highlights including the boogie synth infused Airplay "Drive Me Crazy" and the "White Horse"-ish "Cool Out' by Magnum Force. Things get more DC GoGo style on "Super Stimulus" by Stimulus, ex Skullsnap Sam Culley gives us the uptempo jazz funky "Walk", whilst the soulful Teena Marie-ish “Sound Reason" by Splash gets an exclusive Joey Negro edit. Volume One has always been a firm favourite among those who have a copy but it has been out of press for a few years now and was never released on vinyl so ZR has decided to repress and repackage the original with new artwork and release it again as a new double CD and gatefold double LP.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Spunk in the Funk - The Blue Denim Band
2. Sound Reason (Joey Negro Edit) - Splash
3. Walk - Sam Culley Band
4. Buckets O' Duckats - J.S. Theracon
5. Funky Space Player - Silver Flash Funk
6. Cool Out - Magnum Force
7. Betcha Got a Dude On the Side - Star Quality & Class
8. Move - L.S. Movement
9. Super Stimulus - Stimulus
10. Throw Down - Larry Harris

Disc: 2
1. Drive Me Insane - Airplay
2. The Easton Assassin - The Sunburst Band
3. Let's Get High (On the Music) - Nice and Tight Band
4. I'm Burning Up - Nick Allen
5. Making Love Will Keep You Fit - Brenda Harris
6. She's So Fine - Bright Moments
7. Hey Roots - Blackrock
8. Rhythm of the Cit-tay - Storm
9. Big Fun - Contact
10. These Are the Eightys - Wizzard
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal