Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Supafunkanova Volume One Compiled by Joey Negro & Sean P Ltd Vinyl 2LP

Various Artists

Label: Z Records
Release Date: 02 March 2015
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Supafunkanova Volume One Compiled by Joey Negro & Sean P Ltd Vinyl 2LP To Basket £16.99

Various Artists Supafunkanova Volume One Compiled by Joey Negro & Sean P Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

To tie in with second installment of Supafunkanova we are re-releasing a re-packaged Volume 1.

Disco historians and top deckhands DJs Joey Negro and Sean P cast the net yet wider with 'Supafunkanova', another retrospective of outstanding 12” tracks from the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Unearthing over 24 gems from their respective colossal record collections, the groovesome twosome pull together some of the original backstreet 12s which put FUNK into the disco decades.

It’s a collection sure to please all. The hard-bitten funk fan is likely to find something he hasn’t unearthed yet or even knew existed and the newly initiated disco boogie fan will find this a great place to start his digging. There’s even an exclusive remix by Joey Negro of the old school classic "We Rap More Mellow” by The Younger Generation, thrown in as an added bonus.

This DOUBLE CD features some old school rap styles from Billy Lamont and South Bronx, plus some proper jazzy street funk from Silver Lining, The Pied Piper of Funkingham and Hypertension. For the beat-focused, there are killer breaks to hand with some old favourites from J. Gayle Gaymon, BLT and Legacy, as well as Ray Munning’s cooler than cool remake of ‘Funky Nassau’. The gatefold Double LP also features a new and exclusive edit of Foreal People from Joey Negro. Reigning in sounds from New York, South Carolina, Washington, Boston and Los Angeles, Supafunkanova Vol.1 is an intoxicating blend of fiercely groovy arrangements, bouncy drumbeats and funk driven synths. A musical mix still as likely to get the booty shaking as it was over 20 years ago!

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Hang With the Gang - Backlash
2. Clap Song - The Pied Piper Of Funkingham
3. It Could Happen to You - Ray Munnings
4. I'm So Glad - Legacy
5. (If You) Study Long, You'll Study Wrong (Instrumental) - J. Gayle Gaymon
6. Tighten It Up - BLT
7. Got This Feelin' - Hypertension
8. Come On and Rock - Needa
9. Love Begins With You - Foreal People
10. The Bottom Line - South Bronx
11. Soul Kick - The Billy Mersey Band
12. West Coast Drive - V.I.P. Connection

Disc: 2
1. We Rap More Mellow (Joey Negro Remix) - The Younger Generation
2. Gigolette - Jahneen
3. The Man With the Master Plan - Billy Lamont & The UNN Band
4. I'll Be the One - Marcia Pharr
5. Reach Out (And Touch Someone) - Leprechaun
6. I've Got a Trouble Man (Sean P Edit) - Jackie Cole & Hot Platnium Fantasy
7. Prisoner of My Weakness (Joey Negro Edit) - Billy Evans
8. Feel the Heat, Feel the Beat - Johnny Adams
9. Silver Lining - Silver Lining
10. Freak Unique - Jackie Boy & Nature's Creation
11. Funk Affair - Standing Room Only
12. Power Funk - The Power Band
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal