Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Natureboy Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Label: Five Easy Pieces
Release Date: 23 March 2015
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Natureboy Limited Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £15.99

Flako Natureboy Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

‘Natureboy’ marks the start of a new chapter for London-based musician Dario Rojo Guerra, pka Flako. It is the first full iterance of a new musical identity that has been bubbling under the surface since he fully moved away from MPC-produced, sample-based music with 2012’s ‘Eclosure’ EP.

Recorded in a few short months in 2014, ‘Natureboy’ retains the influence of South Amercian soul, folk and cumbia he absorbed as a child growing up with German and Chilean parentage. Nevertheless, it’s also an album fully created with live instrumentation, synthesizers and vocals, a fresh body of work primarily exploring his interest in the natural world. ‚I’m not religious’, Guerra explains. ‘Nature is the only thing I believe in. The sun and water are the two things that I find worth worshipping. There’s nothing without the sun, and there’s nothing without water. Building on the kaleidoscopic mix of digital tones and enveloping instrumentation of the ‘Eclosure’ EP, the musical influences scattered throughout ‘Natureboy’ stretch from Vangelis to George Duke to Hermeto Pascoal. It is underlined by the constant presence of Guerra’s own voice, which weaves an abstract narative throughout the album. Though he performed almost all oft he music on ‘Natureboy’, he drafted in composer and arranger Miguel Atwood-Ferguson to play strings on one oft he album’s many stand out tracks, Twelve O’Clock Shadow’.

Featured Tracks:
1. The Opening/Purple Trees
2. Shipibo Icaro
3. Gelis
4. Spice Melange
5. Kuku
6. Solo for Chloe
7. Shape of Things to Come
8. Som Da Aura
9. Twelve O'clock Shadow
10. Lyrebird
11. Golden High
12. Payaso
13. Who Do You Think You Are
14. For You (Reprise)
15. With Me Now (Feat. Dirg Gerner)
16. The Odd & the Beautiful
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal