Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

The Very Best Of Charged G.B.H. Limited Edition Swirled Green Vinyl LP

Charged G.B.H.

Label: Cleopatra Records
Release Date: 16 February 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add The Very Best Of Charged G.B.H. Limited Edition Swirled Green Vinyl LP To Basket £19.99

Charged G.B.H. The Very Best Of Charged G.B.H. Limited Edition Swirled Green Vinyl LP

Deluxe limited edition swirled green vinyl collection of highlights from the early years of Feb 3 art - UK punk rock icons G.B.H. featuring the classics Sick Boy, No Survivors, Self Destruct and more!
Charged GBH, commonly known as GBH, are an English street punk band which was formed in 1978 by vocalist Colin Abrahall, guitarist Colin ""Jock"" Blyth, bassist Sean McCarthy and Drummer Andy ""Wilf"" Williams. GBH were early pioneers of English street punk, often nicknamed ""UK82"", along with Discharge, Broken Bones, The Exploited and The Varukers. They have gone on to influence several punk rock musicians. The name GBH was inspired by then-bassist Sean McCarthy's trial for grievous bodily harm, though some fans also believe it is an acronym for ""Great Britain Hardcore"".
The influential, long-lived punk metal band G.B.H. rose to prominence in England during the early '80s when hardcore punk began inching toward heavy metal. Originally formed in 1979 in Birmingham, England, G.B.H. initially called itself Charged G.B.H. to differentiate itself from another band called G.B.H.
The leather-clad, hair-spiked foursome began recording for the Clay label in the early '80s, releasing some singles before unleashing their influential debut album, City Baby Attacked by Rats, in 1982. City Baby's Revenge followed two years later in 1984, by which time the band had become one of the leading punk metal bands of the era. G.B.H. continued recording and releasing albums throughout the '80s, though their influence progressively waned as a new wave of bands such as Slayer emerged and pushed punk metal toward what became known as speed metal and, in turn, thrash.
Despite its waning influence, G.B.H. soldiered on, recording new albums throughout the '90s and into the next millennium. By this point the band was often cited by both metal and punk bands as a huge influence, and a renewed interest in G.B.H.'s early recordings resulted.

Featured Tracks:
1. No Survivors
2. Self Destruct
3. Big Woman
4. Sick Boy
5. Slit Your Own Throat
6. Am I Dead Yet?
7. Give Me Fire
8. Mantrap

1. Catch 23
2. Hellhole
3. Do What You Do
4. Four Men
5. Children Of Dust
6. Malice In Wonderland
7. Get Out Of The City
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal