Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

GONE GLIMMERING Limited Reissue Vinyl LP + Download


Label: Matador
Release Date: 19 January 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add GONE GLIMMERING Limited Reissue Vinyl LP + Download To Basket £19.99

CHAVEZ GONE GLIMMERING Limited Reissue Vinyl LP + Download

· Vinyl reissues of Chavez’s 1995 debut album - ‘Gone Glimmering’ - and 1996’s ‘Ride The Fader’.
· Cult favourite albums, back in print after over ten years.
· Chavez were formed from the ashes of Wider, inspired by the sonic approach of math rock pioneers Slint and post-punk outfit Mission Of Burma. Chavez utilize angular, asymmetrical riffs and dramatic dynamic shifts. The band are fronted by guitarist Matt Sweeney, who was previously a member of Skunk and Wider and played with Guided By Voices. Drummer James Lo also came from Wider and the band are rounded out by guitarist Clay Tarver (Bullet Lavolta) and
bassist Scott Marshall.
· Chavez never officially broke up but they released no new material and played few shows between 1999 and 2006. In 2001, during Chavez’s period of inactivity, guitarist Matt Sweeney went on to join Smashing Pumpkins frontman / guitarist Billy Corgan and Slint guitarist David Pajo to form Zwan. Most recently, Sweeney teamed up with Will Oldham (under the moniker Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy) for the 2005 album ‘Superwolf’, as well producing and playing on Early Man’s
debut record for Matador, ‘Closing In’. He also played guitar on Johnny Cash’s ‘American VI’, released posthumously in 2010.
· Clay Tarver has kept himself busy directing various television commercials as well as writing the script for the movie ‘Joy Ride’.
· The band were chosen to perform at the I’ll Be Your Mirror festival organized by ATP and Portishead in September 2011 in Asbury Park, New Jersey.
· “Some of the most exciting rock songs of the last decade” - Pitchfork
· “Probably weren’t the first mid-90s band to have their knotty guitar textures and algebraic time signtures called ‘math rock’, but they might have been the best” - Entertainment Weekly
· Both LPs include MP3 voucher.

Featured Tracks:
1. Nailed to the Blank Spot
2. Break Up Your Band
3. Laugh Track
4. The Ghost By the Sea
5. Pentagram Ring
6. Peeled Out Too Late
7. The Flaming Gong
8. Wakeman's Air
9. Relaxed Fit
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal