Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Le Nouveau Jazz Limited Vinyl LP

Francois Tusques With Barney W

Label: Finders Keepers Records
Release Date: 08 December 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Le Nouveau Jazz Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £16.99

Francois Tusques With Barney Wilen Le Nouveau Jazz Limited Vinyl LP

· With track titles translating as ‘Song For The Devil’ and ‘The Witches’, Francois Tusques’ rarest commercially released album casts an early stylistic premonition of the vampire themed improvised soundtracks recorded for director Jean Rollin merely months after its release.
· Assembling the very same group of musical sorcerers this album’s personnel (featuring, amongst others, soprano saxophonist Barney Wilen) reads like a who’s who of France’s early improvised music / free jazz scene resulting in a wholly unique European flavour while preserving the essence of other global inter-communal travellers such as Don Cherry and Krzysztof Komeda.
· Originally extracted from three separate recording sessions in early 1967, ‘Le Nouveau Jazz’ opens with themes conjured up for the short film ‘Coda’ by French jazz documentarist Marc Pauly highlighting the composer’s adept ability in his multi-disciplined art, further aligning
him with the aforementioned pioneers. The rest of the album
combines frenzied macabre picture music (akin to Detroit’s Wendell Harrison) and emotive piano improvisations (Mal Waldron, anyone?) with the sui generis inclusion of a double double bass formation courtesy of Bernard ‘Beb’ Guerin (Sonny Sharrock / Kühn Brothers) and Jean-Francois Jenny Clarke (Enrico Rava / Giorgio Gaslini).
· As Tusques’ second official album (after the seldom sighted ‘Free Jazz’ from 1965) this LP expands on this important French musician’s vision and follows up Cacophonic’s repress of his mega rare Don Cherry art installation collaboration from 1964, this time introducing
extra rhythmic arrangements courtesy of Italian drummer Aldo
Romano (Robin Kenyatta).
· Housed in the elegant original ‘Witches’ artwork sleeve by comic illustrator Jean Vern with French liner notes by French psychiatry / beat poet / crime fiction writer Yves Buin this worthy reissue hopes to find a unique uninhabited part of your collection from an era that changed the Parisian underground prior to the important developments of labels like BYG Actuel and Futura Records in the early 1970s.

Featured Tracks:
1. Coda
2. Sombre
3. Dialogue I
4. Cantique Du Diable
5. Les Sorcieres
6. Dialogue II
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal