Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

The Hawk Relaxes Limited Reissue Vinyl LP

Coleman Hawkins

Label: Concord
Release Date: 28 May 2018
Format: LP Vinyl

Add The Hawk Relaxes Limited Reissue Vinyl LP To Basket £16.99

Coleman Hawkins The Hawk Relaxes Limited Reissue Vinyl LP

Like a fine wine, Coleman Hawkins proves on The Hawk Relaxes that good things only get better with age. Joined by six-string maestro Kenny Burrell, the legendary tenor saxophonist grooves in a mellow mood in this quintet setting alongside pianist Ronnell Bright, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Andrew Cyrille. A high water mark in his later career, The Hawk Relaxes showcases the understated sophistication of Hawkins’ playing as he makes instant classics out of tunes from the Great American Songbook in a style befitting of an evening by the fire, the calm ocean, or a late night with a sweetheart over candles and wine. This quintet, quite possibly the most unique Hawkins ever fronted, delivers a supple, relaxed, and sophisticated affair on par with anything he ever did during this period. Recorded by the inimitable Rudy Van Gelder, this classic jazz album has now been newly reissued on VINYL and is a must-have for both the casual fan and the hard-core jazz aficionado.

Featured Tracks:
1. I'll Never Be the Same
2. When Day Is Done
3. Under a Blanket of Blue
4. More Than You Know
5. Moonglow
6. Just a Gigolo
7. Speak Low
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal