Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Time On Our Side Limited Vinyl LP


Release Date: 24 November 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Time On Our Side Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £18.99

Colosseum Time On Our Side Limited Vinyl LP

City Of Love. The shape-shifting jazz of Dick's Licks. The stacked harmonies of You Just Don't Get It. The melancholy ache of New Day. It feels like Colosseum, even if it doesn't always sound like them. Hiseman cites the original mission-statement as "rocky, jazzy rhythms, vocals with intelligent words, improvised solos" – but in truth, there's not a pigeonhole in the world that can contain them.

Eleven years have passed since Tomorrow's Blues: a lifetime in rock 'n' roll. Time On Our Side may have been a pleasure to record, at Hiseman's own Temple Music Studio in Surrey, yet its completion marks the end of a period of some uncertainty. "We started it in 2010 by meeting in the studio and playing through demos that had been written by the bandmembers," the drummer remembers. "But after 2010, the future of Colosseum was always going to be decided by whether Barbara would be able to tour again…"

Of course, multi-instrumentalist Barbara Thompson is a vital part of the Colosseum story. She and Hiseman met in 1964, then married in 1967, and during the band's first run, she played – albeit uncredited – on the first three albums. Colosseum split in 1971, and Thompson led her own outfit, yet she remained a close ally, and when the reunited band lost original saxophonist Dick Heckstall-Smith in 2004, she stepped up. Undoubtedly, Thompson's sax lines are the fairydust on the new material, from Safe As Houses to The Way You Waved Goodbye.

That this new album is so dazzlingly successful is testament to the enduring genius of one of Britain's most inventive lineups. Almost a half-century after Colosseum's formation, this is unmistakably the sound of a band with gas still in the tank and endless lightbulbs popping over their heads. "I know that when we get together we all feel like we are coming home," says Hiseman. "This album was easy to make and it just feels right…"

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Safe As Houses
2. Blues To Music
3. The Way You Waved Goodbye
4. Dick's Licks
5. Nowhere To Be Found

Disc: 2
1. City Of Love
2. You Just Don't Get It
3. New Day
4. Anno Domini
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal