Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Slant Of Light Limited White Vinyl LP + Download

Mary Lattimore & Jeff Zeigler

Label: Thrill Jockey
Release Date: 22 September 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Slant Of Light Limited White Vinyl LP + Download To Basket £12.99

Mary Lattimore & Jeff Zeigler Slant Of Light Limited White Vinyl LP + Download

· ‘Slant Of Light’, the first album by the duo of Mary Lattimore (harp) and Jeff Zeigler (guitar, synthesizer, production) is a completely unique document blending ancient classical traditions with modern improvisation and electronic performance.
· On their first record as a duo Lattimore and Zeigler emerge completely synergetic, offering up stunning improvisations that are as advanced melodically as they are texturally. The four pieces on ‘Slant Of Light’ are seductive and picturesque, with Lattimore’s elaborate melodies blossoming out of Zeigler’s tonal beds of synthesizer and guitar.
· Equally inviting and challenging, ‘Slant Of Light’ is an impressionistic work that draws on musical histories ancient and contemporary, existing outside current trends in music as a whole. There is nothing that sounds remotely like it.
· The strong and fast kinship between Lattimore and Zeigler is best understood in the context of their highly collaborative pasts. Lattimore has recorded and performed with Kurt Vile, Meg Baird, Jarvis Cocker, Wrekmeister Harmonies and Steve Gunn. Her years touring with Thurston
Moore inform some of ‘Slant Of Light’’s noisier moments. Zeigler has played with members of Chris Forsyth’s Solar Motel Band, The War On Drugs, and A Sunny Day In Glasgow in his group Arc In Round. The contemplative, dynamic improvisations on ‘Slant Of Light’ reflect the collaborative ingenuity of musicians experienced in adapting their playing and sound to fit multiple contexts.
· ‘Slant Of Light’ was recorded by Jeff Zeigler in Philadelphia during a citystopping snowstorm during the winter of early 2014. Zeigler is one of the most in-demand recording engineers in Philadelphia, and has recorded albums by Kurt Vile, The War On Drugs, Nothing, Purling Hiss and many others. The cover painting is by Philadelphia based artist Rebecca Suss.
· Lattimore was recently awarded a grant by the Pew Center For Arts & Heritage.
· First 500 LPs pressed on white vinyl and presented with a printed inner sleeve and free download card.

Featured Tracks:
1. Welsh Corgis in the Snow
2. The White Balloon
3. Echo Sounder
4. Tomorrow Is a Million Years
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal