Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 to 1972 Limited Vinyl 4LP Set

Captain Beefheart

Label: Warners
Release Date: 08 November 2017
Format: LP Four Vinyl

Add SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 to 1972 Limited Vinyl 4LP Set To Basket £59.99

Captain Beefheart SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 to 1972 Limited Vinyl 4LP Set

This new four-disc collection revisits the albums Captain Beefheart (aka Don Van Vliet) recorded with the Magic Band in the early Seventies —Lick My Decals Off, Baby, The Spotlight Kid and Clear Spot. It includes all three albums, which have been remastered for the first time, as well as a disc of unreleased material.

The fourth and final disc in SUN ZOOM SPARK includes 14 unreleased tracks and is a trove of alternate versions, rehearsals and outtakes from the sessions for The Spotlight Kid and Clear Spot. The disc reveals just how much some songs evolved before being released. Among the highlights are a sung-version of “I Can’t Do This Unless I Can Do This/Seam Crooked Sam,” which became a spoken-word performance on Bat Chain Puller; a raucous, off-kilter version of “Dirty Blue Gene” that pointed the way to the final version on Doc at the Radar Station; and an instrumental rehearsal of “The Witch Doctor Life” that is nearly unrecognizable compared to the version heard on 1982’s Ice Cream For Crow.

Featured Tracks:
Lick My Decals Off, Baby: (October 1970)
1. "Lick My Decals Off, Baby"
2. "Doctor Dark"
3. "I Love You, You Big Dummy"
4. "Peon"
5. "Bellerin' Plain"
6. "Woe-Is-uh-Me-Bop"
7. "Japan in a Dishpan"
8. "I Wanna Find a Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go"
9. "Petrified Forest"
10. "One Red Rose That I Mean"
11. "The Buggy Boogie Woogie"
12. "The Smithsonian Institute Blues (or the Big Dig)"
13. "Space-Age Couple"
14. "The Clouds Are Full of Wine (not Whiskey or Rye)"
15. "Flash Gordon's Ape"

The Spotlight Kid: (January 1972)
1. "I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby"
2. "White Jam"
3. "Blabber 'n Smoke"
4. "When It Blows Its Stacks"
5. "Alice in Blunderland"
6. "The Spotlight Kid"
7. "Click Clack"
8. "Grow Fins"
9. "There Ain't No Santa Claus on the Evenin' Stage"
10. "Glider"

Clear Spot: (November 1972)
1. "Low Yo Yo Stuff"
2. "Nowadays a Woman's Gotta Hit a Man"
3. "Too Much Time"
4. "Circumstances"
5. "My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains"
6. "Sun Zoom Spark"
7. "Clear Spot"
8. "Crazy Little Thing"
9. "Long Neck Bottles"
10. "Her Eyes Are a Blue Million Miles"
11. "Big Eyed Beans from Venus"
12. "Golden Birdies"

1. "Alice in Blunderland" - Alternate Version
2. "Harry Irene"
3. "I Can't Do This Unless I Can Do This/Seam Crooked Sam"
4. "Pompadour Swamp/Suction Prints"
5. "The Witch Doctor Life" - Instrumental Take
6. "Two Rips in a Haystack/Kiss Me My Love"
7. "Best Batch Yet" - (Track) Version 1
8. "Your Love Brought Me To Life" - Instrumental
9. "Dirty Blue Gene" - Alternate Version 1
10. "Nowadays a Woman's Gotta Hit a Man" - Early Mix
11. "Kiss Where I Kain't"
12. "Circumstances" - Alternate Version 2
13. "Little Scratch"
14. "Dirty Blue Gene" - Alternate Version 3
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal