Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

Laura Jean Limited Vinyl LP

Laura Jean

Label: Chapter Music
Release Date: 25 August 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Laura Jean Limited Vinyl LP To Basket 12.99

Laura Jean Self Titled Limited Vinyl LP

Melbourne folk auteur Laura Jean returns with a new self-titled record, her most intimate and affecting album yet. Laura Jean follows on from 2011's A fool who'll, her acclaimed excursion into rock dynamics (described by Rolling Stone as "an uncompromising triumph"). For the new album, Laura traveled to the UK and recorded with producer John Parish, renowned for his career-spanning collaborations with PJ Harvey, as well as his work with Goldfrapp, M Ward and many others. The album was recorded at Toybox Studios in Bristol. Laura Jean alternates between startlingly honest portraits of domestic life, and more allegorical tales of a dream world. The tone is sparse and delicate, only occasionally breaking out into full-bodied arrangements such as June and Don't Marry the One You Love. But what at first seems beguilingly gentle pulls you deeper and deeper with every listen. The album features backing vocals throughout from rising Norwegian performer Jenny Hval, with whom Laura has toured Australia and Europe. Laura also sings a duet with John Parish on Prince Of Kites to close the album.

Featured Tracks:
1. June
2. How Will I Know When I'm Home
3. First Love Song
4. Sister All I Have Are My Arms
5. Here Comes The Miner
6. When I First Brought Him Home
7. Kelpie Blues
8. Don't Marry The One You Love
9. A Mirror On The Earth
10. Prince Of Kites
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal