Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

City Of God OST Limited 180gram Vinyl LP

Antonio Pinto & Ed Cortes

Label: Milan
Release Date: 15 September 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add City Of God OST Limited 180gram Vinyl LP To Basket £14.99

Antonio Pinto & Ed Cortes City Of God OST Limited 180gram Vinyl LP

In telling the story of two friends from a tough Rio de Janeiro barrio whose lives can never seem to escape the favela where they were born and raised, the acclaimed film by Fernando Meirelles and Kátia Lund has drawn comparisons to such modern touchstones as Martin Scorsese's GoodFellas. Taking his inspiration from the filmmakers' daring gambit to cast real people in the roles and the film's '60s-'70s milieu, composer Antonio Pinto (assisted by partner Ed Córtes) has concocted a smart, rhythmically intoxicating cocktail of Brazilian jazz and samba, shaken with a little '70s American funk and R&B and served with cool, tropical flair. Those various styles often melt into each other with a liberating sense of postmodern possibility, giving listeners an experience that's as exotic as it is deceptively familiar, the worthy equatorial flip side of David Holmes's jazz-funk collaborations with Steven Soderbergh on Out of Sight and Ocean's Eleven.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Meu Nome E Ze
2. Vida De Otario
3. Funk Da Virada
4. Estoria Da Boca
5. Na Rua, Na Chuva, Na Fazenda - Hyldon
6. A Transa
7. Metamorfose Ambulante - Raul Seixas
8. Nao Vem Que Nao Tem (Nem Vem Que Nao) (1997 Digital Remaster) - Wilson Simonal

Disc: 2
1. Preciso Me Encontrar - Cartola
2. Alvorada - Cartola
3. Convite Para Vida
4. No Caminho Do Bem - Tim Maia
5. Morte Ze Pequeno
6. Batucada Remix - Antonio Pinto, Ed Cortes (Remix By Dj Camilo Rocha & Dj Yah)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal