Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

PAY CLOSE ATTENTION Limited Deluxe Four LP Lidded Box Set + DVD


Label: XL
Release Date: 25 August 2014
Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Add PAY CLOSE ATTENTION Limited Deluxe Four LP Lidded Box Set + DVD To Basket £32.99


· XL Recordings release ‘Pay Close Attention’, a label
history-spanning compilation album. The album documents and celebrates the key releases and moments from the 25 year history of the Londonbased, independent record label.
· In the ‘Pay Close Attention’ sleevenotes, XL owner Richard Russell writes: “XL Recordings is a collaborative endeavour, and many people have contributed to its evolution. In the song ‘Out Of Space’, Liam Howlett of The Prodigy provided a
blueprint when he sampled Kool Keith of Ultramagnetic MC’s rapping these words: “Pay Close Attention”. And whilst XL has never had any outside ownership, Gil Scott-Heron advised me not to even consider XL an “independent”, because everything is connected. Part 1 of this compilation are the roots of XL; underground music, made for DJs. These roots
are still growing. Part 2 features some of the singular
talents who have taken the label further than we ever
envisioned. There is no unifying genre; hopefully the thread of originality is evident though.”
· Available as a deluxe four LP lidded boxset that includes a poster and a bonus 10 track NTSC Region 0 DVD featuring such iconic footage as The Prodigy’s ‘Firestarter’ video, Michel Gondry’s ‘Fell In Love With A Girl’ (for The White Stripes) and Adele performing ‘Someone Like You’ at The Brits.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. DJ's Take Control - SL2
2. Out of Space - The Prodigy
3. Don't Go (Kicks Like a Mule Remix) - Awesome 3
4. Sweet Harmony - Liquid
5. Piper - Jonny L
6. Gabriel (Feat. Peven Everett) (Live Garage Mix) - Roy Davis Jr.
7. Destiny - Dem 2
8. Anytime - Nu-Birth
9. Jump 'N' Shout - Basement Jaxx
10. I Luv U - Dizzee Rascal
11. Igloo - Wiley
12. Hater - Various Productions
13. Talkin' the Hardest - Giggs
14. Wildfire (Feat. Little Dragon) - SBTRKT
15. All Under One Roof Raving - Jamie xx
Disc: 2
1. Firestarter - The Prodigy
2. F**k the Pain Away - Peaches
3. Seven Nation Army - The White Stripes
4. I Feel Just Like a Child - Devendra Banhart
5. Once Around the Block - Badly Drawn Boy
6. Seventeen Years - Ratatat
7. Paper Planes - M.I.A.
8. The Eraser - Thom Yorke
9. New York Is Killing Me - Gil Scott-Heron
10. Wierd Fishes/arpeggi - Radiohead
11. Yonkers - Tyler, the Creator
12. Sea Within a Sea - The Horrors
13. BTSTU (Edit) - Jai Paul
14. Please Forgive My Heart - Bobby Womack
15. Angels - The xx
16. Too Much - Sampha
17. Step - Vampire Weekend
18. Easy Easy - King Krule
19. Rolling in the Deep - Adele
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal